Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2008, 09:50 PM
Michaelanthony Michaelanthony is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2
Question Backup failing because of Intego, Virus Barrier

Tonight, for the first time, my backup failed and choked on something to do with my Intego Virus Barrier.

The error message, in red, says some process isn't permitted. Any ideas on how I can resolve this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2008, 10:38 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,763
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Turn off Intego's "real time scanning" when you're backing up. (Intego is aware of the problem and is working on it...)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:48 AM
rmf rmf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Turning off real time scanning doesn't solve the problem for me. I had to build a script that excluded the offending virus barrier file. I've corresponded with Intego tech support with a "bug report" since this started last week with an update they did, but to date have no response.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:52 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,763
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I've not seen one that turning off real-time scanning didn't fix; perhaps you could send me your log with "Send to shirt pocket"?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2008, 11:51 AM
rmf rmf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Doing the clone now after turning off real time scanning. Will send log when done.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2008, 12:15 PM
rmf rmf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Woops

Ran it after making sure auto scanning was off, clone was flawless. My error. Sorry for the goof.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2008, 12:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,763
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No problem, glad it worked.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2008, 02:20 PM
Michaelanthony Michaelanthony is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2
Fixed

Hey guys,

There was a new virus definitions update and it fixed the problem. I have to say, I have never experienced better customer service than I have with ShirtPocket's Super Duper. Mr. Nanian is amazing!

Mike Anthony
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-24-2008, 04:24 PM
grmlaw grmlaw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Intego's response

This is the response of Intego to my inquiry about its new program update crashing SuperDuper:

"We have had reports of similar issues, which were escalated to our developers. After investigating the issue with VirusBarrier 10.5.3.1 and SuperDuper our developers have concluded that an update to SuperDuper will be require to resolve this. In the mean time you can add /Library/Intego into VirusBarrier trusted zone and your clone should complete without issue."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-24-2008, 05:35 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,763
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Unfortunately, they're incorrect. Adding /Library/Intego to the trusted zone doesn't work, according to the users I've forwarded that to.

It's regrettable that they're pointing fingers at us, when the problem certainly seems to be in their court. It's one thing to deny access to an infected file: the user is then alerted that the file is infected, and can take action to remedy the situation.

It's another thing entirely to install files onto a drive that can't be copied due to the action of their kernel extension, and not even allow the files (which have rather bogus names with single byte ASCII characters that are typically 'invisible' to the user) to have their date/time information retrieved, even from a process that's running with root privileges.

Intego needs to have a bit more respect for their users than they're showing, I think. Scanning for (nonexistent, I might add) viruses should not prevent users from copying their completely uninfected drives.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-04-2008, 02:23 PM
eedrac eedrac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Smile This seemed to work for me...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Unfortunately, they're incorrect. Adding /Library/Intego to the trusted zone doesn't work, according to the users I've forwarded that to.
The error message I received was:
| 04:37:29 AM | Error | SDCopy: FTS_NS error for item: '/Library/Intego/virusbarrier.bundle/Contents/Resources/ \004' err: 1, Operation not permitted\n
Instead of adding /Library/Intego to the trusted zone, I added the file, virusbarrier.bundle to the trusted zone and that seemed to do the trick... I hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-04-2008, 08:48 PM
RonaldPR RonaldPR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by eedrac View Post
Instead of adding /Library/Intego to the trusted zone, I added the file, virusbarrier.bundle to the trusted zone and that seemed to do the trick... I hope that helps.
Are you sure you did not have Real-Time Scanner disabled?

I tried adding /Library/Intego/virusbarrier.bundle to the trusted zone, but still the backup failed with:

| 01:37:26 AM | Error | SDCopy: FTS_NS error for item: '/Library/Intego/virusbarrier.bundle/Contents/Resources/ \004' err: 1, Operation not permitted\n
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-11-2008, 06:21 PM
eedrac eedrac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Sorry about that. I was sure I checked to make sure it was enabled, but now when I run it, it doesn't work, so I suspect you're right. Sorry for the confusion.

Does anyone know if there's a way (a script maybe?) to exclude the offending Intego bundle from the clone? I know it's not an elegant solution, but it might be a good workaround until the problem is fixed...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-16-2008, 06:24 PM
imdgp imdgp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oamaru, NZ
Posts: 4
?scripting

Is there any scripting that will turn off virusbarrier realtime scanning, before a backup and turn back on afterwards??

I am worried that I may inadvertantly leave it off!!

cheers

David
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-16-2008, 06:30 PM
imdgp imdgp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oamaru, NZ
Posts: 4
does this happen with other antivirus products?

Hello again,

does this problem happen with nortons???

Cheers

David

I noted that CCC flags the same error but does not abort.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
alternating backup snoopy67 General 11 04-04-2009 06:14 PM
Server drive won't mount after backup rhennosy General 1 11-09-2007 04:49 PM
backup failing rdlsmith General 5 03-10-2007 06:04 PM
SuperDuper Failing on Backup - I/O Errors Stephen Kuhn General 1 08-13-2006 05:03 PM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 11:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.