Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2005, 09:58 PM
egizzi egizzi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
error with first time use during backup

Hi- just bought it and tried to use it, had following error from log file which is at the end of this post. Appreciate help. Thanks. -Egizzi

SuperDuper! Log (Created Saturday, May 14, 2005 11:43:04 PM US/Pacific)

[***] Friday, July 22, 2005 05:02:46 PM US/Pacific
|05:02:46 PM|Info| SuperDuper!, version 74, path: /Applications/SuperDuper!.app, OS: 10.3.9 (7W98)
|05:02:46 PM|Info| Source Drive: /, name: Macintosh HD, device: /dev/disk0s3 type: hfs, OS: 10.3.9 (7W98), capacity: 74.41 GB, used: 38.84 GB, directories: 60508, files: 263234
|05:02:46 PM|Info| Target Drive: /Volumes/BootBackup, name: BootBackup, device: /dev/disk1s3 type: hfs, OS: N/A, capacity: 74.44 GB, used: 0.03 GB, directories: 3, files: 3
|05:02:46 PM|Info| Copy Mode : Smart Update
|05:02:46 PM|Info| Copy Script : Backup - all files.dset
|05:02:46 PM|Info| Transcript : BuildTranscript.plist
|05:02:47 PM|Info| PHASE: Volume Preparation
|05:02:47 PM|Info| ...ACTION: Enable Permissions
|05:02:47 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on Macintosh HD
|05:02:47 PM|Info| Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
|05:02:47 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for Macintosh HD
|05:02:47 PM|Info| Permissions on '/' are enabled.
|05:02:47 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on BootBackup
|05:02:47 PM|Info| Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
|05:02:48 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for BootBackup
|05:02:48 PM|Info| Permissions on '/Volumes/BootBackup' are enabled.
|05:02:48 PM|Info| PHASE: Clone from Source to Target
|05:02:48 PM|Info| ...ACTION: Copy Files from Macintosh HD to BootBackup
|05:02:48 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Cloning Macintosh HD to BootBackup
|05:02:48 PM|Info| Copying different files with delete using script: /Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Backup - all files.dset
|05:02:48 PM|Info| Loading 19 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude system temporary files.dset
|05:02:48 PM|Info| Loading 1 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude Norton FileSaver files.dset
|05:02:48 PM|Info| Loading 2 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Backup - all files.dset
|05:02:48 PM|Info| Copy script command hash contains 21 commands
|05:36:24 PM|Info| WARNING: Caught I/O exception(5): Input/output error
|05:36:24 PM|Info| WARNING: Source: /Users/.elio/elio.sparseimage, lstat(): 0
|05:36:24 PM|Info| WARNING: Target: /Volumes/BootBackup/Users/.elio/elio.sparseimage, lstat(): 0
|05:36:24 PM|Info| Logging attributes for item: /Users/.elio/elio.sparseimage of type: 8
|05:36:24 PM|Info| Type:
|05:36:24 PM|Info| Creator:
|05:36:24 PM|Info| kIsOnDesk: NO
|05:36:24 PM|Info| kColor: NO
|05:36:24 PM|Info| kIsShared: NO
|05:36:24 PM|Info| kHasNoINITs: NO
|05:36:24 PM|Info| kHasBeenInited: NO
|05:36:24 PM|Info| kHasCustomIcon: NO
|05:36:24 PM|Info| kIsStationery: NO
|05:36:24 PM|Info| kNameLocked: NO
|05:36:24 PM|Info| kHasBundle: NO
|05:36:24 PM|Info| kIsInvisible: NO
|05:36:24 PM|Info| kIsAlias: NO
|05:36:25 PM|Error| SVUclone: Error: Couldn't create
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2005, 10:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,763
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Egizzi.

The problem here is with your FileVault volume.

Rather than backing up logged into the FileVault volume, which can cause issues like this, try creating a non-FV user. Log out of your account and into that one (don't use Fast User Switching), and run the backup from there.

Since your FileVault volume will be put away, it'll back up cleanly and you'll be all set... unless there's damage to that volume. But, we won't know until you give it a try.

Hope that helps!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2005, 02:29 PM
egizzi egizzi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
still the same problem

I created an account "superduper", filevault off. Ran Smart Backup, same error. What next?

-Elio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-2005, 03:13 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,763
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK: the problem, then, is that your FileVault sparse image -- the thing the system has created to store your FileVault files -- is resident on top of a bad spot.

The problem is that it's hard to know what's damaged inside the image. And, since the image itself is hidden when mounted, it's hard to back up "normally". So...

If you can, make a "manual" backup (using Finder) of your Home folder first. You might encounter errors, but I'd be more comfortable if you got the files out of there, temporarily.

Once that's done, proceed with the Un-File-Vault. Hopefully it'll proceed without errors so that you can safely ignore the backup.

Once that's done, you can either backup, or re-FileVault and then back up: it's your choice. The system should relocate anything on a bad spot, so that you can proceed with the disk as-is -- but to be safest, it'd be best to un-FileVault, back up, boot from the backup, and then erase and ZERO your internal drive to get the surface tested and re-mapped. Then, restore.

I hope that makes sense...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2005, 06:14 PM
egizzi egizzi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
problem solved

In the process of copying my home directory data to an external drive, the copy failed on one file. I deleted that file, and had a hunch it was the problem. So I deleted everything on the external drive and ran superduper again and it worked. Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-24-2005, 06:18 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,763
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK: I'd still follow the procedure I listed because the actual FileVault volume is what was damaged, not the file inside (except that it was in the bad spot...)... be careful!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 11:28 AM
automatic initiation of backup when I plugin/mount my external Firefox drive? mykmelez General 3 07-11-2005 04:00 PM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 10:46 AM
Kernal Panic Luhmann General 4 01-26-2005 11:37 AM
1st backup clone to ext dr estimated time ?? esuebrown General 3 07-24-2004 05:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.