Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2011, 12:16 AM
ramblinwreck001 ramblinwreck001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
migration using SD vs Time Machine

Hi,

I've got a 2007 era iMac that will be replaced this weekend with one of the 2011 models. In the past few years, I've used Time Machine and Super Duper side by side on different external drives, one for TM and multiple for SD clones (and I've been glad on more than one occasion that I've had each rather than just one or the other!).

My question is this: When the new Mac prompts me to copy over information from my previous machine, is there any particular advantage to pointing it to a SuperDuper cloned drive vs my Time Machine drive, or vice versa?

Assuming both are up to date prior to the migration, would one yield "better" or "more reliable" results, or have less chance of something going wrong?

I've seen the "I've got a new Mac: should I SuperDuper! to it?" FAQ entry but I think that is addressing a slightly different question than the one I am asking, though please correct me if I am wrong, or if my question is answered elsewhere.

Thank you.
Chris [a happy SuperDuper customer for ~3 years]

[edit: Just adding that both machines will be Snow Leopard, no Lion issues/questions here...]

Last edited by ramblinwreck001; 06-24-2011 at 12:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2011, 12:46 AM
ramblinwreck001 ramblinwreck001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
.. and another question:

It looks like the new Mac, upon initial boot up, will present me with a screen:



Obviously if I want to transfer information to my new mac from my TM backup, then I choose the "From a Time Machine backup" option.

However, if I were to want to transfer information to my new mac from my SD clone, would I choose "From another Mac" (with SD cloned drive attached to new machine via FireWire), or a different option?

Thanks
Chris

[edit: Actually I found the answer to this question here: http://web.me.com/pondini/AppleTips/SetupAsst.html - to use the SD cloned drive I would select the "From another volume on this Mac" option. So only the original question is still outstanding, though I now realize the original question could be extended even further - why use an external drive (SD or TM) at all when I can hook up the new machine directly to the old machine. ]

Last edited by ramblinwreck001; 06-24-2011 at 01:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2011, 07:32 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can use either one, Chris. If you have problems with what you've selected, you'll have some backups that could be used to supplement or replace the one that's failed.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine Copy jerrykrinock General 1 04-02-2010 01:36 PM
Needed: Time Machine and SuperDuper guidance kapalama General 7 08-13-2009 07:55 AM
Error 18 in Time Machine.... iith096 General 4 10-20-2008 03:57 PM
Time Machine Behavior nkhester General 0 02-15-2008 03:53 PM
A different angle on SD & Time Machine integration badlydrawnboy General 10 10-26-2007 08:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.