Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2008, 12:27 AM
camner camner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 160
Sandbox and sharing

I setup my MacPro (10.5.3) to allow the main hard drive (called "Macintosh HD") to be shared. When I browse to the MacPro using the "Shared" items in a Finder window, the items I am able to see include "Macintosh HD" and "Macintosh HD-1". The first is the Sandbox, and the second is the actual "Macintosh HD" volume.

Why is this happening (that the names are wrong)?

Also, if I go in via the Sandbox volume (but with the wrong name!), I can't get anywhere. The Finder on the remote mac won't follow the symlinks from the Sandbox to the Macintosh HD volume. Is this expected behavior?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2008, 08:57 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Don't share both the Sandbox and the regular drive - it doesn't make sense, since there really isn't much of anything on the Sandbox...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2008, 11:33 AM
camner camner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 160
I'm NOT sharing both, at least not intentionally! As you can see in the screenshot, I'm sharing my home user folder. But, when I click on the computer name in the Shared section of the remote computer, a bunch of folders appear...all the folders are names of volumes, including "Macintosh HD" and "Macintosh HD 1", one of which is really the sandbox. I can't explain it. It seems weird!
Attached Images
File Type: png Picture 1.png (64.0 KB, 405 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2008, 11:37 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Must just be something OSX is doing... there's probably no way to prevent it...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2008, 02:51 PM
camner camner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 160
Thanks for all of your help. I appreciate your responsiveness.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
noobie q on sharing and scheduling Lanny General 3 07-04-2007 11:30 AM
Restoring from Sandbox? Eric_J General 5 05-26-2007 10:21 PM
Sandbox sharing darelon General 2 04-18-2007 04:43 AM
Problem with some registrations in Sandbox coosticks General 1 08-11-2006 12:54 PM
Mac and Backup newbie, sizing sandbox and sparce image kswaty General 5 02-14-2006 01:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.