Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2006, 01:17 PM
nalsdixit nalsdixit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
reinstalling non system files only

my computer recently crashed, and the diagnosis is 'system corrupted', i do have a backup copy of the 'corrupted hard disk' which the computer does NOT boot up from. however, i would like to reinstall all the applications and data i have backed up on the backup copy.
how do i do that ? apple migration assistant is not reading from the backed up copy, what option do i select on super duper, or do i need set up a new script

tks

nals
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2006, 03:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It won't boot from the copy *and* won't migrate? That's awfully weird. Are you sure it's a proper "Backup - all files" done with either Smart Update or Erase, then copy?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2006, 04:49 PM
nalsdixit nalsdixit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
yes, the back up does not show up when i restart pressing the option key. also when i try to use migration assistant, the backup does not show up as a disk i can select.
fwiw the backup does show up as a bootable disk under system preferences but when i select it as the startup disk the computer still defaults to starting up under the harddisk in the computer. per the apple guys the sytem was corruted on the harddisk so i assume i have a corrupted system on the backup disk, hence it will not start up. however the applications and data is there
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2006, 04:54 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. What I'd do, then, is restore the backup, then do an archive-and-install OVER the full restore to lay down a new system...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System files visible on target Timmy General 5 11-17-2006 05:54 PM
backup (all files) error smtorr General 3 02-09-2006 08:10 AM
System crash on first backup attempt cabo General 10 08-14-2005 05:27 AM
Questions about "exclude system cache/temporary files" Copy Scripts Darkside General 1 05-12-2005 09:48 AM
Script to only back up operating system files wiselou General 5 05-01-2005 11:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.