Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2011, 10:39 PM
corby corby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
SD keeps wiping out TM backups

Hello,

I've been using SD along side TM on the same backup drive with Snow Leopard for a few years. No problems.

Recently I upgraded to Lion and decided it was time to get a pair of new drives for backups. My plan is to rotate the backup disks and keep the snow leopard backup on the original backup disk.

Anyway, I created a new backup drive, ran TM just fine. Ran SD just fine. Reran TM and everything seemed fine.

Then I rotated in a 2nd backup drive. As before I ran TM just fine, then ran SD just fine. Then on this drive when I run TM again, it starts over from scratch. I reformatted the drive to try again and the same thing happened.

A couple of notes: The external drives have different names ("backup 1" and "backup 2"). The exernal drives are formatted with Encryption.

I had no problems with Backup 1 drive in this configuration, but the Backup 2 drive seems to want to rerun a full TM backup after running SD.

Backup 1 drive is currently offsite, so I haven't retested it, but it was working as expected originally.

Is there maybe a problem with this entire setup: 2 separate encrypted backup drives and running both SD and TM side by side on each?

Hope this isn't too confusing.

Corby
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2011, 08:10 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Do you have a "Backups.backupdb" folder at the top of the source volume?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2011, 12:42 PM
corby corby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Yes, indeed there is a Backups.backupdb folder on the source. It gets replicated to the target disk.

I thought that might be the new Lion "local" version of TM and wasn't sure if that should be copied or not.

Regardless, it is there. Not sure what to do about it, but you probably have the answer.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2011, 12:48 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, that's why the backups are getting wiped out (and you'll note that the "What's going to happen?" section of the UI indicates this'll happen.

You should remove that folder - it's not for local backups. It was liked copied back from a restore when you didn't use "Restore - all files"...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2011, 12:55 PM
corby corby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Ah Ha!

I had done a restore from Backup 1 disk as a test to make sure restores worked. It hadn't occured to me that was a factor.

I'll read the instructions a bit more carefully.

Now, which version of that should I delete? The one on the local disk or the one on the backup disk, or both?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2011, 01:00 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The local one.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems scheduling multiple backups diamondsw General 11 10-07-2009 11:28 AM
SD and TM backups - what goes first? Moses3d General 14 02-19-2008 01:53 PM
Saving backups? Necessary for scheduled backps? gcoghill General 2 12-09-2007 11:43 PM
Scheduling Rotating backups Tangobozo General 1 09-18-2006 06:49 AM
Feature request: "Run scheduled backups NOW" option ChicagoLarry General 1 09-11-2006 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.