Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2007, 02:27 PM
morley morley is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Migrating from Mac to Mac

I'm using SuperDuper 2.1.3. (Great, trouble free app!).

Now I must migrate from this iMac to an equivalent machine, same hard drive size, same Mac OS X 10.4.8. I want to move absolutely everything.

Question: I'm backed up to a FireWire drive. Do I follow the same "Recovering from a Disaster" instructions, page 27 of the UserGuide.pdf? Can I safely ignore the Sandbox instructions?

Kind regards,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2007, 02:29 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes and yes.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2007, 03:59 PM
cult hero cult hero is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
I also want to add, as long as the machines are the same arch (Intel or PPC) I could make a clone of the HD in my Mac Mini and boot that clone via firewire on my MacBook. An iMac setup will boot a PowerMac since OS X has support for all of Apple's hardware. (Just make sure you have your OS updated to the latest point release.)

You could boot the new machine in target disk mode, clone your entire setup over to it via firewire and be good to go without even using an external drive if I understand everything correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, assuming that they can both run from the specific build of the OS. New Macs often have special builds that don't sync up until the next real update...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2007, 05:13 PM
morley morley is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by cult hero View Post
I also want to add, as long as the machines are the same arch (Intel or PPC) I could make a clone of the HD in my Mac Mini and boot that clone via firewire on my MacBook. An iMac setup will boot a PowerMac since OS X has support for all of Apple's hardware. (Just make sure you have your OS updated to the latest point release.)

You could boot the new machine in target disk mode, clone your entire setup over to it via firewire and be good to go without even using an external drive if I understand everything correctly.
Thanks for this. Currently it seems less likely I'll need to migrate to a new machine. But good information to have. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.