Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2011, 07:51 PM
rock15478 rock15478 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 24
Having troubles with licenses after clone

Been using SD! for years... never had many problems...

So I cloned a Tiger HD to a new Tiger partition on a new SATA drive in my G5.

After booting from my new clone, none of my licenses are remembered. Some software I use requires an ilok, and the ilok is completely registered correctly and showing the license information, but software is still not accepting it. (All works fine on the original HD)

I thought Super Duper did an identical clone? I've never had a problem with software license information before... Seems odd that ALL software is now doing this (even older software that I know for a fact this never happened with on older SD! clones)

What could be the problem?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2011, 09:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Copy protected programs are, well, copy protected. So, this is kind of expected...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2011, 12:22 AM
rock15478 rock15478 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 24
I don't understand why it would be doing this to programs that I've never had a problem with before. This is only recent. The only thing I can recall changing was updating to the newest version of SD about a month or two ago.

I thought a clone was an exact clone? Shouldn't that keep all licensing intact?

It used to.... (for these specific programs)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:24 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We haven't changed anything about the way we copy files, which has always happened file-by-file. We don't call ourselves a "clone", and use the term Backup: the files are all copied, along with all the metadata and attributes, but copy protected programs are copy protected specifically to prevent licensing-after-copy, and can use various methods to do that.

If you're having licensing problems, you should definitely contact the vendor of those programs and ask them why they're doing what they're doing...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2011, 05:19 PM
jwhitley jwhitley is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by rock15478 View Post
I don't understand why it would be doing this to programs that I've never had a problem with before. This is only recent. The only thing I can recall changing was updating to the newest version of SD about a month or two ago.

I thought a clone was an exact clone? Shouldn't that keep all licensing intact?

It used to.... (for these specific programs)
As a rule, never depend on activated licenses to be preserved across any backup or clone strategy. On OS X, Keychain's secure notes and 1Password both work well for this purpose. These repositories will be correctly backed up by SuperDuper!

A bit of exposition on licensing systems:

As Dave indicates, many licensing systems deliberately incorporate strategies to defeat copying as an inherent aspect of their role in preventing software piracy. Even a perfect copy of the data on the disk isn't sufficient to ensure that a license will work. Frequently the secure license metadata store will contain various serial number and signature information about the original system, disks, etc. Thus a perfect copy of the license data may not work in a new or restored system because that system is "new." Most vendors attempt to accommodate scenarios such as part upgrades, but the software still may fail activation if the overall system is not deemed the same as the original based on the licensing system's heuristics. Similarly, some software may attempt an automatic re-activation, e.g. upon a restore to a new system. However, reactivations usually have limits (a fixed number, a rate over time, etc.). Thus a restore of licensed software working once is no guarantee that a restore will work a second or third or tenth time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:12 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwhitley View Post
A bit of exposition on licensing systems:
Very well expositioned (sic).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'07 MacBook Pro clone to new '11 MacBook Pro (Clone failed) Cow General 10 03-31-2011 12:07 AM
Problem Booting From a Clone on a Firewire HD sgmorr General 8 03-11-2010 11:11 PM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Using Disk Utility from Clone gets -9972 error (falsely?) eagseags General 6 09-08-2007 09:50 PM
Clone Troubles inetguy General 5 04-29-2005 07:31 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.