Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2007, 05:13 AM
Gryzor Gryzor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
Posts: 10
Suggestion: "Rerun Now"

Hi, I'm sorry if I have already made this suggestion in the past; it would be great if there were a mechanism (button?) to rerun failed jobs.

Sometimes during the morning, I get the screen you can see in the attach. It is usually my fault (forgot to tun a drive on, etc.). What I'd love is to have the ability to tell that screen over there: Run Now! (the selected job).

This not only comes handy when you have a failed job, but also when you want to execute certain backup*?now". Like I have my schedule, but I am leaving earlier today and I wanna run a few backups before I do so.

In my humble opinion, it has got to be a simple "run now" button.

Hope it's possible and not crazy.

Good Luck and Excellent Product (as usual)

Martin.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SDLog.jpg (57.8 KB, 664 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2007, 07:41 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Thanks for the suggestion!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2007, 01:18 PM
Gryzor Gryzor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Thanks for the suggestion!
It's always a pleasure; oh but you know me already.

p.s.: I've seen "a lot of similar requests". Forgive my utter lack of common sense to perform a SBP™ (Search Before Posting)

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2007, 06:45 AM
surajrai surajrai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Bumping this thread ...

I agree that this would indeed be a very useful feature. I have 4 different jobs scheduled but if I have to re-run any of them, at the moment I have no way to do it other than selecting all the drop downs and the various options that I have customized for each scheduled job.

Here is my vote to add this feature to the next release.

S.r.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2007, 11:00 PM
surajrai surajrai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Looking at the interface of SuperDuper, the way I would envision this working without drastic changes would be that on selection of a particular schedule in the "Scheduled Copies" window, the main window "Super Duper" would dynamically re-configure itself to the settings used for that scheduled item. To re-run, the user would use the normal "Copy Now" button to re-run the scheduled item.

I would think this would not be too difficult to implement?

S.r.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2007, 09:24 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's more difficult than you might think, actually. But thanks for the suggestion!
__________________
--Dave Nanian

Last edited by dnanian; 10-07-2007 at 07:05 PM. Reason: (Stupid misspelling fixed.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2008, 09:46 AM
blegion blegion is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gryzor View Post
it would be great if there were a mechanism (button?) to rerun failed jobs..
As a newbie customer of Shirt Pocket's I just wanted to add my vote too. The possibility to easily re-run missed backup schedules would be wonderful . Hope we'll be seeing this in a near future release. Please please...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature Suggestion: automount/unmount polymathic General 24 12-28-2006 09:09 AM
Suggestion - hopefully simple pmlunn General 2 10-20-2006 10:15 PM
Feature request: "Run scheduled backups NOW" option ChicagoLarry General 1 09-11-2006 12:29 PM
Feature suggestion: new included script sportbiker General 3 08-30-2006 11:15 PM
Suggestion Regarding Scheduled Backups MacOfTheEast General 1 07-24-2006 07:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.