Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 08-31-2007, 08:34 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,782
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Having it spin down shouldn't be a problem. It should just spin up again when accessed. If it's visible on the desktop, it's mounted.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-31-2007, 08:50 PM
hdtvluvr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
So SD will wake the drive?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:07 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,782
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As I've said, it certainly should -- drives spin down all the time, and the OS wakes them when they're accessed.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:35 AM
hadleyhope hadleyhope is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Sorry for the delay, I just wanted to make sure a couple of scheduled backups had run.

SuperDuper woke up the My Book drive just fine, I had set the energy perfs to wake the machine 15 minutes before SuperDuper was due to run so that any open apps had settled down, i.e. Mail and news reader had finished a refresh.

The only niggle I have is that it is not simple to see that the scheduled operation is successfull (though there is a quick Growl notification). The log only details interactive operations.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-03-2007, 09:05 AM
matt! matt! is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
If you're using a WD MyBook it will work fine.

I use one as you want to and it's all cool

matt
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09-03-2007, 11:12 AM
chris_johnsen chris_johnsen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 79
In the Growl preference pane, you should be able to configure messages from SD to be "sticky", so that they do not automatically disappear.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-03-2007, 11:30 AM
hdtvluvr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for everyone's reply. I'll purchase it this week and get the scheduled backups started this week.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-03-2007, 11:50 AM
hadleyhope hadleyhope is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_johnsen View Post
In the Growl preference pane, you should be able to configure messages from SD to be "sticky", so that they do not automatically disappear.
OK, I did not know that Growl did sticky messages per application/message category. It is a bit confusing though to open SD, view the log and not see details about the last "operation" (if that operation is scheduled).
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-03-2007, 11:54 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,782
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, you will see the scheduled operation if you access the log from the scheduled copies window -- that way, if you have three copies scheduled, you can review all of them.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-04-2007, 03:55 PM
hadleyhope hadleyhope is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Well, you will see the scheduled operation if you access the log from the scheduled copies window -- that way, if you have three copies scheduled, you can review all of them.
Yes, but you have to click the Schedule... button to get to that window, and the first thing that appears is a drop down sheet as though you are setting a new schedule, which if you just want to see the log's you have to cancel.

It would be nice from the main window to have a menu option to view any logs.

Anyway, I have set a sticky Growl notification for failed scheduled copies which is good enough for me.


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-04-2007, 05:25 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,782
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Actually, no, you don't -- you can choose Window > Scheduled Copies to get there, and if you leave the window open, we restore it when you exit and resume...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-05-2007, 05:05 AM
hadleyhope hadleyhope is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-08-2007, 11:27 AM
hdtvluvr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_johnsen View Post
In the Growl preference pane, you should be able to configure messages from SD to be "sticky", so that they do not automatically disappear.
OK where is the Growl preference pane?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-08-2007, 12:33 PM
chris_johnsen chris_johnsen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 79
On my system, the Growl preference pane is under Other in the main System Preferences application (Apple menu). It has several anchors (tabs).

Growl Preferences screen shots and documentation

The Applications tab should have a list of applications, including at least SuperDuper!. When you click on SuperDuper!, the list at the bottom should show a list of notifications that SuperDuper! might send: Scheduled Copy Succeeded, Copy Succeeded, Scheduled Copy Failed, Copy Failed. When the check box in the Sticky column shows a check, that type of notification will always be sticky. When it is unchecked, that notification will never be sticky. When it shows a dash/minus, it will be sticky only if the application requests stickyness.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-08-2007, 05:39 PM
hdtvluvr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OK, now I figured out that Growl is an application that needed to be downloaded and installed. I got the latest version (1.1). Your documentation was for 0.7.4 and the app has changed a lot. I think I have it set up properly. Will know tomorrow morning.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuperDuper! & Prevent Drives from mounting. randyharris General 0 07-19-2007 08:45 PM
SuperDuper among hard drives??? jmitro General 1 07-11-2007 06:27 PM
Western Digital WD2500D032-000 3dotball General 1 03-26-2007 10:56 AM
Western Digital My Book Pro 500 GB Suitability mudge General 3 02-08-2007 01:45 PM
Using SuperDuper on a Digital Audio Workstation amathie General 1 05-12-2005 05:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.