Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2015, 11:52 AM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 114
Toaster drive won't release after clone

I use a "toaster" drives in 2 different Voyagers, both DH's and my SD clones are on the same one. Lately after cloning with SD the "toaster" drive won't release from the Voyagers (either one). It seems that SD is continuing to "work" even after I am notified the clone is finished. I set the backup for ejecting the external drive after SD is completed.

If I remove the toaster drive manually, I get a notification that the disk was not ejected properly.

This has happened the last few months. Any idea what may be going on?

thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2015, 02:35 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
El Capitan is much more aggressive about indexing and the like. Try adding the drive to the Spotlight Preference Pane's "Privacy" tab.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2015, 08:41 PM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 114
Toaster Drive won't release after clone

I don't understand, Dave. In the Privacy Pane in Spotlight, adding a drive to it, seems to eliminate Spotlight from searching for that external drive (as I read it) - don't I want spotlight to FIND the external drive (the Voyager drive which contains my SD clones).
Am confused....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-25-2015, 09:18 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, what's keeping your drive busy is Spotlight. That's why it won't eject. Adding it to the Privacy tab will help prevent that. If that's not what you want, then you'll have to wait until everything stops working on the drive before you eject it, or shut your system down and then eject. Don't force eject.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2015, 08:13 PM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 114
I did as you suggested by adding the SD clone to the Privacy in Spotlight. Then made the SD clone. However, when the toaster drive did eject, the SD clone was no longer on Spotlight privacy.

Obviously I would have to add it each time I make a clone. That is a PITA.....is there any way to make this setting permanent so I don't have to go through this every time I make a backup clone? This will certainly impact my consistent use of SD.....

Is there any other way to accomplish this so that ejecting of the clone will happen seamlessly as it used to????

Help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2015, 10:31 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't know what you mean. The privacy setting is actually stored on the drive. So, if it's ejected, it won't appear...but will if you reattach.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't boot into the SuperDuper backup drive. MMM General 8 02-19-2015 03:04 PM
Clone of Clone will not boot on new drive. fmlogue General 1 08-27-2011 04:39 PM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 08:22 AM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.