Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2006, 11:02 AM
Mojo Mojo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Naming Cloned Volumes On External Drives

A number of months ago I had a problem booting from cloned volumes on a couple of external drives. At the time Dave thought that something on my Macs really likes the clones to be named exactly the same as the original volume, so since then all volumes are named exactly the same. (Previously I could name external cloned volumes differently and booting from them was not a problem.)

Unfortunately, this has become something of a nightmare for me... Since all the volumes are named the same I sometimes have trouble figuring out which volume is which. This is coming up again because I recently installed SD! on a couple of Macs that belong to friends and the naming issue was cofusing to them too...

I am wondering if this problem can be solved by an SD! update or if someone can suggest a strategy for keeping things straight?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2006, 12:00 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, don't rename the drive until you need to start up from it, Mojo... this isn't strictly necessary for all configurations, but it was for yours, probably due to a startup item (or the like) that needed the same drive name.

Have you tried starting with a different drive name recently?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2006, 11:54 AM
Mojo Mojo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
No, I haven't tried it recently. When I get back home I'll see if it works...

I may be missing something here, so bear with me... If my normal boot drive should fail and I need to boot from a clone, how will I be able to change the name of the cloned boot drive in order for it to boot?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2006, 11:59 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You could do a quickie install of OSX on your internal drive to do it. You might be able to do it from the OSX install disc. Or, you could install Tiger to the internal and migrate from the drive without booting from it...

Note that, in most cases, the drive does not have to be named the same... there's something -- or there was something -- in your configuration that's requiring it...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An (Applescript) hack to automate mounting and unmounting external volumes kbradnam General 12 07-30-2007 08:12 AM
using migration assistant with cloned PB G4 on external firewire drive llscholes General 3 05-27-2006 05:18 PM
How to avoid FW external hard drives that don't boot! and other thoughts drbonbi General 4 03-22-2006 12:51 AM
Naming Disks and Clone Drives rayc325 General 17 08-23-2005 07:24 PM
Backing up multiple volumes to one external FW drive JohnCoffee General 5 04-24-2005 06:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.