Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2008, 12:29 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
WD My Passport Studio Drive won't boot

Hi

I recently purchased a portable Western Digital My Passport Studio Drive - 500 GB, 800/400 fw. I have partitioned the drive into two partitions - one for SuperDuper, the other for storing images. The drive itself is GUID partitioned, per Disk Utility, and each partition is Mac Os Extended (Journaled).

No problem creating the SuperDuper clone, or backing up. However, today, I attempted to boot from it. While it is recognized in System Preferences>Startup Disk, and I can select it, the partition will not boot. As an alternative I started up holding down the option key. Only the main HD appears.

Appreciate any guidance to get this to work correctly.
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2008, 12:35 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Is this for the iBook or the iMac?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2008, 12:39 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
Hi

Settings are now correct.

This is for a new MacBook Pro, 2.53 ghz, 320 gb hd.
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac

Last edited by 2stepbay; 12-14-2008 at 12:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2008, 01:12 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If it's showing up in the Startup Disk preference pane, it should show up at Option+boot time too, unless -- perhaps -- it's not spinning up properly.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2008, 03:22 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
As I think back, I have been able to boot from this drive. What has changed in the interim is the latest Apple firmware changes for the MPB. Is it possible that a change in the firmware would affect the booting of the drive?

I backed up the drive last night for the first time since making the Firmware changes to the MPB. BU ran with no problem. This AM was my first boot from the clone subsequent to the Firmware changes.
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2008, 04:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It shouldn't affect the booting of the drive, but it's certainly possible that it's changed the way external drives are detected, or timing values, etc. Haven't had other similar reports, though.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2009, 09:17 AM
george george is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
for what it's worth...(knock on wood)
had success backing up to/booting from a WD Passport (III) Studio 320Gb unit purchased last month from Apple Store.

Using the Firewire cabling (not yet tried USB cable) i've seen no problems using this drive as both TimeMachine/SuperDuper volumes, partitioned GUID 100/220.

MacBook (late 2006) 2GHz/2G OSX10.5.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2009, 01:40 PM
flick flick is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Smile Guid

My WD Passport works fine when holding the option key at startup as long as its reformatted GUID.

(WD Passport 2.5" on MBP 2.4Ghz with latest firmware)

Last edited by flick; 02-10-2009 at 08:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2009, 04:31 AM
flick flick is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Dont forget when you power up holding the option key (ALT) wait until you see the startup disk options before plugging the drive in.

If the drive's connected before system powerup it doesn't spin up until later in the boot process and won't be detected as a boot device.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-28-2010, 11:22 PM
Robear423 Robear423 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thank you FLICK!!! On Black friday I went ahead and purchased two WD Passport Studio Fire HD's (GREAT Deal). I easily backed up using SD. Could not, for the life of me why the "bootable" backup would not boot. NEVER would have given this a thought. WORKS PERFECTLY!!! Thanks for the post...

Ps.. Yes "chriswaco", it really does work!!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-07-2009, 05:24 PM
manfredell manfredell is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2stepbay View Post
Hi

I recently purchased a portable Western Digital My Passport Studio Drive - 500 GB, 800/400 fw. I have partitioned the drive into two partitions - one for SuperDuper, the other for storing images. The drive itself is GUID partitioned, per Disk Utility, and each partition is Mac Os Extended (Journaled).

No problem creating the SuperDuper clone, or backing up. However, today, I attempted to boot from it. While it is recognized in System Preferences>Startup Disk, and I can select it, the partition will not boot. As an alternative I started up holding down the option key. Only the main HD appears.

Appreciate any guidance to get this to work correctly.

I have the same problem but have found a workaround on the net:

start with the drive disconnected then hold alt key. when the drive list appears PLUGIN the wd drive. Now it appears and you can boot from it.
There must be a problem with the fw implementation on the wd. But this workaround works.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-24-2009, 06:38 PM
chriswaco chriswaco is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2stepbay View Post
Hi

I recently purchased a portable Western Digital My Passport Studio Drive - 500 GB, 800/400 fw. I have partitioned the drive into two partitions - one for SuperDuper, the other for storing images. The drive itself is GUID partitioned, per Disk Utility, and each partition is Mac Os Extended (Journaled).

No problem creating the SuperDuper clone, or backing up. However, today, I attempted to boot from it. While it is recognized in System Preferences>Startup Disk, and I can select it, the partition will not boot. As an alternative I started up holding down the option key. Only the main HD appears.

Appreciate any guidance to get this to work correctly.
Try booting from USB instead of Firewire. I can't get the Passport Studio to boot from Firewire either, which is very annoying. Works fine from USB, but I paid nearly double for a faster Firewire 800 drive.

Someone posted that it might be a "LUN" ("Logical Unit Number") problem with the drive. Someone else I know with a different firmware version can boot his Mac via firewire, so it could be that there's an upgrade or downgrade available.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:01 AM
TMay TMay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 118
chriswaco

I assume you tried the firewire boot workaround suggested above by flick and seconded by manfredell? I am kind of curious if it works.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-28-2010, 11:29 PM
Robear423 Robear423 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Smile Got It!!!! THANK YOU!!!

Thank you FLICK!!! On Black friday I went ahead and purchased two WD Passport Studio Fire HD's (GREAT Deal). I easily backed up using SD. Could not, for the life of me why the "bootable" backup would not boot. NEVER would have given this a thought. WORKS PERFECTLY!!! Thanks for the post...

To Sum It Up: DISCONNECT WD Passport Firewire Drive. Boot, holding "option" key. When system pauses and list appears, plug in HD Firewire Drive. TaDa!! It now appears as a BOOTABLE option!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-29-2010, 07:30 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You shouldn't have to do this kind of thing, though, great deal or not...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 08:22 AM
MacBook Pro Drive with Boot Camp to boot into Vista scottsdale General 1 06-11-2008 08:09 AM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM
Fw Drive Wont Boot Budgie General 3 11-05-2006 01:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.