Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2006, 06:17 AM
Codeus Codeus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Cannot create images with v2.1.3 under 10.3.9

Hi Dave,

It seems that I cannot create new images with SD v2.1.3(80) under Panther 10.3.9. If I Smart Update or Erase/Write an existing image it works fine but always fails when creating an image for the first time.

It also works if I roll back to SD v.2.1.1

Here is my log dump if it helps: -

Quote:
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | SuperDuper!, 2.1.3 (80), path: /Applications/Utilities/SuperDuper!.app, Mac OS 10.3.9 build 7W98 (ppc)
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Started on Fri, Jul 14, 2006 at 11:06 AM
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Source Drive: boot, mount: /, device: IBM-IC35L060AVVA07-0, interconnect: Internal ATA, file system: "HFS+", OS: 10.3.9 (7W98), capacity: 9.87 GB, used: 3.11 GB, directories: 18134, files: 85874, ejectable: NO, ACLs: Disabled
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Target Image: /Volumes/Store/doris.sparseimage, name: doris
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Copy Mode : Erase, then copy files
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Copy Script : Backup - all files.dset
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Transcript : BuildTranscript.plist
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | PHASE: 1. Prepare to Copy Files
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Preparing boot
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying the integrity of volinfo.database
| 11:06:14 AM | Info |
volinfo.database OK
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on boot
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for boot
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | Permissions on '/' are enabled.
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Mounting doris
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Preparing doris
| 11:06:15 AM | Info | Initializing...
| 11:06:15 AM | Info | Creating...
| 11:06:15 AM | Info | Finishing...hdiutil: create failed - Invalid argument
| 11:06:15 AM | Error | ****FAILED****: result=256 errno=0 (Unknown error: 0)
Any help would be much appreciated and keep up the good work!

Codeus
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2006, 08:21 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Alas, we know. It looks like we didn't fix a bug introduced in 2.1.2 as we thought we did.

For now, you can create the empty sparse image using Disk Utility (see the FAQ) and then point us to it... we're working on the fix.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2006, 10:49 PM
trilobyte trilobyte is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codeus View Post
Hi Dave,

It seems that I cannot create new images with SD v2.1.3(80) under Panther 10.3.9. If I Smart Update or Erase/Write an existing image it works fine but always fails when creating an image for the first time.

It also works if I roll back to SD v.2.1.1

Here is my log dump if it helps: -



Any help would be much appreciated and keep up the good work!

Codeus
Hello,
I am getting the same thing in the same situation. I am a new user and it has frustrated me.

Also, I am getting this output in Console if it matters:
2006-10-01 21:31:26.544 SuperDuper![436] attribute terminology dictionary not found for attribute path in class AbstractObject in suite NSCoreSuite
2006-10-01 21:31:26.544 SuperDuper![436] attribute terminology dictionary not found for attribute path in class NSDocument in suite NSCoreSuite
2006-10-01 21:31:26.544 SuperDuper![436] attribute terminology dictionary not found for attribute path in class SDSessionSettings in suite SuperDuperSuite
2006-10-01 21:32:15.642 SuperDuper![436] ***ERROR OCCURRED: ****FAILED****: result=256 errno=0 (Unknown error: 0)
2006-10-01 21:34:46.871 SuperDuper![436] LSCopyItemInfoForURL() returned -35 for path /.vol.
2006-10-01 21:34:47.341 SuperDuper![436] LSCopyItemInfoForURL() returned -35 for path /dev.
Thanks,
trilobyte
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2006, 08:51 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Understood. The Console messages don't really help, actually -- we're aware of the problem.

So, to work around the issue, create the sparse image, of the appropriate size, using Disk Utility. You'll only have to do this once.

1. Open Disk Utility (found in /Applications/Utilities).
2. Without selecting any volume/drive on the left side, click the New Image toolbar button.
3. Give the image an appropriate name (like Backup), and store it on a drive other than the one you're trying to back up.
4. In the Size pop-up, choose Custom.
5. In the sheet that appears, enter the size of the drive you're trying to back up. Note that the pop-up does not have a selection for GB: you need to enter "40000" MB for 40GB. Click OK when you've got the right size entered.
6. Decide whether or not you want the image encrypted, and choose the proper value in the Encryption pop-up.
7. In the Format pop-up, choose sparse disk image.
8. Click Create.

Once it's created, go back to SuperDuper! and choose the "Disk Image..." selection in the destination pop-up. Navigate to the location where you created the image and click it (it's grey, but that's OK -- click it anyway), then click "Save".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2006, 01:10 PM
trilobyte trilobyte is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Understood. The Console messages don't really help, actually -- we're aware of the problem.

So, to work around the issue, create the sparse image, of the appropriate size, using Disk Utility. You'll only have to do this once.

1. Open Disk Utility (found in /Applications/Utilities).
2. Without selecting any volume/drive on the left side, click the New Image toolbar button.
3. Give the image an appropriate name (like Backup), and store it on a drive other than the one you're trying to back up.
4. In the Size pop-up, choose Custom.
5. In the sheet that appears, enter the size of the drive you're trying to back up. Note that the pop-up does not have a selection for GB: you need to enter "40000" MB for 40GB. Click OK when you've got the right size entered.
6. Decide whether or not you want the image encrypted, and choose the proper value in the Encryption pop-up.
7. In the Format pop-up, choose sparse disk image.
8. Click Create.

Once it's created, go back to SuperDuper! and choose the "Disk Image..." selection in the destination pop-up. Navigate to the location where you created the image and click it (it's grey, but that's OK -- click it anyway), then click "Save".
Hello,

Thanks for the help. I sought out the above information from the FAQ earlier and began the process. One question: is it bad to point SuperDuper! to the mounted image, rather than the image file itself?

Another question: have you heard of some files not being able to copy due to corrupt file/creator types? (The same files also can not be properly accessed by other Finder operations, such as "Create archive..." or Duplicate.) Obviously not your problem, but SuperDuper!'s thorough scanning of all the files on my hard drive are turning up strange things in the dark recesses. (If you have no answer, don't worry about it; I can delete the files. )

Thanks,
trilobyte
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2006, 02:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, it's OK to point at the mounted image -- we'll auto-mount it that way, but won't unmount.

As far as weird corrupt files, oh yes, we've heard of that. There is, alas, not much we can do except help users do exactly the kind of thing you've been doing (try duplicating, delete, etc).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2006, 06:31 AM
nickair nickair is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
I had the same problem and your post helped to fix it. Thank you Dave for your always good support!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to create an ASR image... djhagerman General 11 11-21-2005 11:18 PM
Sparse Images under Jaguar SpinUp General 1 12-05-2004 07:48 AM
Are SuperDuper's images ASR compliant? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-01-2004 12:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.