Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2008, 09:33 PM
blackant blackant is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Safe to work off of external drive's backup?

I've been using SD for a couple of years now and it's finally my turn to say that it saved my hide. I'm so happy I invested in this software.

I've got a question. Here's my scenario: the display on my MBP died today and the Genius Bar guys had to take it away to send in for repairs. I need to use my computer for my daily work, so I hooked up my external drive to my wife's iMac and booted up the backup image no problem. I'm currently running under this backup, so I'm aware that I'm actively modifying the backup image as I continue to do so. My question is: is it relatively safe to do my daily work running this way and then restore the resulting image (last SD backup + changes since) to my MBP once I get it back? Or am I better off restoring my last SD backup to the iMac (after creating a backup of the iMac of course) and figuring out a way of capturing a new backup (last SD backup + changes since) to restore back to the MBP?

Hopefully that makes sense. Thanks in advance for your help.

Jason
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2008, 10:02 PM
camner camner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 160
I won't speak for dnanian here, but I personally would not work for very long with my only (and not backed up) drive. Things don't go wrong TOO often, but if they did, you'd be hosed.

One solution would be to use a second external drive and create a clone (backup) of your backup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2008, 10:10 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's perfectly safe to run off the backup, but you might want to back it up now, since it's your primary drive until the new Mac comes back.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2008, 08:34 PM
blackant blackant is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks guys - I'll see about making a backup of the backup in the meantime.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup noobie, multiple external drives, hand-holding? cococello General 1 11-26-2007 01:18 PM
large discrepancy between internal and backup drives ncmphoto General 3 09-26-2007 04:19 PM
should external drives for backup be named same as source? djlynch General 1 09-19-2007 09:47 PM
How to avoid FW external hard drives that don't boot! and other thoughts drbonbi General 4 03-21-2006 11:51 PM
automatic initiation of backup when I plugin/mount my external Firefox drive? mykmelez General 3 07-11-2005 03:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.