Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2007, 03:14 PM
dscro dscro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2
Clone doesn't appear to be identical - differenet folder structure

I made an exact clone of my startup disk but it does not APPEAR to be an exact clone. There are two folders at top level on the clone that are not there on the startup disk. They are "Network" and Dev. Dev is empty.

Also, folder appearances don't look exactly the same in the clone. Colors applied to folders for example on MacHD did not come over to the clone. Machine is a single account machine. I was running as root. Why is this?

I recall reading a post that said that there was no way to tell a clone from the original. But I certainly can tell.

Why is this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2007, 03:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,763
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Colors should certainly come over -- try restarting Finder to see if that helps.

As far as the Network and dev folders to, they're hidden dynamically by the Finder when the volume is the startup volume. Pretty much expected...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2007, 04:42 PM
dscro dscro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2
Thanks

Actually, the folder colors were OK. What I meant was that the appearance of the folders in startup volume was different in the clone (Applications had a fancy A in it, Library had some colored books, System had X etc.) Now I see that these are applied by finder to whatever volume is being run as the startup volume. In terminal viewing all files including hidden ones with ls -a I can see that indeed Dev and Network as well as other files are all the same. Awesome. Startups and runs great from the clone. Thanks. This is fantastic!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2007, 05:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,763
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Ah. Also totally normal: those are applied by Finder, too.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible or not - Define a 'folder' as a 'target drive'? Marc Dolfen General 1 03-05-2006 04:41 PM
Users folder finder copy vs. clone DavidCB General 1 12-23-2005 05:11 PM
Problem getting apps to run on clone volume ChetA General 3 09-06-2005 03:19 PM
safety clone and utilities folder camner General 1 05-20-2005 08:06 AM
Safety clone usage camner General 3 05-17-2005 01:03 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.