Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2017, 02:27 AM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
External Clone won't boot

OS X 10.12.5
I'm selling my iMac (2012 - 27" i7) Fusion Drive (all SSD)
Successfully copied HD to External backup (non-SSD). All green indicators.
Erase the SSD drive via Disk Utility on my Repair partition.

When I restarted the Mac holding the option key, the Clone did not appear, only the EFI boot.

Plugged in the external to my MacBook Pro (also 10.12.5). Clone HD shows up in my System Preferences>Startup Disk panel, however, when I chose that as my Startup Disk, it subsequently fails to boot, reverting instead to the MBP's startup disk. As an alternative, held down the option key on the restart. Only the MBP HD appears.

I have never had a problem booting from a SuperDuper cloned drive. Any suggestion about what else I can do. Thanks for the help.
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2017, 09:29 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Try using a USB2 cable (which will fit in 1/2 the port) rather than a USB3 cable.

(I have no idea what an "all-SSD Fusion Drive" could possibly be, because that's sort of totally not what a Fusion drive is, but the type of drive doesn't matter. We're working at the file level, not the "physical drive" level.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2017, 02:09 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
Thanks for the suggestion Dave. Don't have a USB 2 cable for the WD drive. Tried the cable from another WD drive and a Seagate drive (both USB 3). No change in behavior. Strange I can see the drive in my Startup Disk Panel but won't boot on the restart.

Wondering if I could remedy by cloning the HD to another drive?

Regarding the Fusion Drive. The original conventional HD started showing signs of failure about 6 months ago. Purchased a 1TB drive and had certified Apple rep do the install. He said installing the SSD would not change the Fusion behavior.
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac

Last edited by 2stepbay; 07-24-2017 at 02:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2017, 04:18 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's why I'm suggesting a USB2 cable. Let me suggest getting one that fits (either microUSB or regular USB depending on the drive).

Really, using SSD on both sides of a Fusion drive is kind of crazy, since the whole point of it is to use SSD to cache frequently accessed blocks. If both drives are fast, it doesn't do anything except make things more complicated.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2017, 12:09 AM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
I don't think 2.0 USB micro cable can fit into a WD HD 3.0 micro slot. The 3.0 cable has 2 joined sections, where the 2.0 cable has only 1. Could you clarify please? Thanks

Regarding Fusion Drive, the machine's general operation proved much faster than its original state. Open/Save file time was much faster too. Also, never noticed any operating oddities. Prior to making the decision to switch to the 1TB SSD by OWC, I consulted both an Apple certified repair guy, plus an upper tier Apple tech rep. Both thought the combo would work without issue. Said the interaction of the 2 drives would be seamless from a user perspective.
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2017, 10:32 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The micro cable fits in 1/2 the slot. A USB 3 port is a standard USB 1/2 port plus an extension.

I'm just saying that simply operating off the straight up SSD would be the same speed as the "fusion" SSD+SSD. It's a weird setup that doesn't make much sense. That's all.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2017, 03:07 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
The micro cable fits in 1/2 the slot. A USB 3 port is a standard USB 1/2 port plus an extension.
Oh...I see. Thanks. Once I get the cable, I'll post back and let you know if I could boot via the clone.

Earlier in this thread, I asked if I could make another clone from the one that won't boot. Thoughts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
I'm just saying that simply operating off the straight up SSD would be the same speed as the "fusion" SSD+SSD. It's a weird setup that doesn't make much sense. That's all.
I thought so too. That's why I consulted Apple re options.
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2017, 03:17 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, you can make a copy from the copy.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2017, 10:43 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Yes, you can make a copy from the copy.
That may be my only out. Tried the USB 2 cable, however, drive did not boot. Thanks again for your help. Appreciate it.
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-27-2017, 07:29 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Did it act any differently?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clone of Clone will not boot on new drive. fmlogue General 1 08-27-2011 04:39 PM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
External firewire drive fails to boot OS X after a restart LEOinDC General 3 09-29-2008 09:33 AM
Can't Boot from SD clone on LaCie External Drive menlomaac General 6 08-05-2008 03:31 PM
Can't Boot from External Partition Goldie General 12 05-06-2005 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.