Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2007, 09:47 PM
unknownrider unknownrider is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Have Super Duper automatically copy when drive mounts

Hi all,

I am trying to use the instructions in this link

http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=993

to have Super Duper automatically copy when my firewire drive mounts. I am using "Do Something When" instead of the One touch instructions as referenced in this link

http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/s...ighlight=lacie

The results are - Super Duper opens when the drive mounts but does not copy. I have created a routine in "Do Something When" named Copy Job.app. and inserted the line

ln -s "Smart Update Mac Back Up from MAC HD.sdsp/Copy Job.app" "Copy Job.app backup of Mac HD"

Thanks in advance for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2007, 11:25 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK; what happens when the drive mounts? What about when you double-click your little executable link in Finder?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2007, 03:32 PM
unknownrider unknownrider is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
When the drive mounts Super Duper opens to the "What's going to happen" window. When I click on the file in Finder the same happens.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2007, 03:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK: it sounds like you didn't quite follow the instructions properly, and you've linked to the wrong file...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2007, 04:08 PM
unknownrider unknownrider is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
That doesn't surprise me. When I schedule the copy, then copy that file into the Saved Settings File it's the only file in the folder. Then I open Terminal type cd (space) and drag the file into Terminal and add the line below. Are you saying that that the line below is linking to the wrong file or I am choosing the wrong file to edit?

ln -s "Smart Update Mac Back Up from MAC HD.sdsp/Copy Job.app" "Copy Job.app backup of Mac HD"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2007, 04:16 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It could be simply because you've named the destination wrong. Try just calling it "Copy Job.app" to see if that helps.

But, certainly, when you double-click that in Finder, it should open SD! and, after a few seconds, run.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2007, 04:57 PM
unknownrider unknownrider is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Still no luck. When I click on the file in finder, Super Duper opens but doesn't run. When I set up the temporary schedule in Super Duper I am leaving it wiht the default scheduling values since I am deleting this temporary schedule. Could this be where I am messing up?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2007, 05:09 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't think so, no... is SD! unlocked?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-16-2009 11:53 PM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Long Hang While Copying BackerUpper General 4 06-12-2006 08:26 AM
Super Duper problem, won't erase target drive maxwell_photo General 3 11-24-2005 09:34 AM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.