Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2006, 04:36 AM
PeterT PeterT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Cannot find target volume "BACKUP"

Hello,

When i'm trying to clone my files to a external HD, i get a window message with 'SuperDuper! cannot find target volume "BACKUP".
I'm using two external drives, which i change after a succesful backup.
The two drives are named the same. Probably this is the problem?

The first drive doesn't give this message, only the second.
Or when i first select the second drive for my backup, the second gives this message.

Who knows the answer to this?

With kind regards,

Peter Tollenaar
Attached Images
File Type: png message.png (71.5 KB, 1423 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2006, 10:30 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This is because we don't use the name of the drive, but rather its low-level ID, and both drives have a different identifier. You can turn off that prompt by unchecking the option in SuperDuper!'s preferences...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2006, 03:04 AM
PeterT PeterT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks

I thought about low-level ID...
I never looked at the preferences pane
Thanks a lot!

Great product!

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2006, 07:36 AM
PeterT PeterT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
I unchecked this option in SuperDupers! preferences.
Unfortunately I still get the message 'can't find target volume"BACKUP'
This happen when the schedule starts and with the other device.

What could be wrong?

Peter Tollenaar
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2006, 09:27 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That doesn't necessarily sound wrong, Peter -- if you've got that volume scheduled, that's what it'll do. Perhaps I don't understand.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2006, 03:09 AM
PeterT PeterT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Dave,

Thanks for your reply.
My exact question is: 'how can i make a scheduled backup with 2 different external drives?'

When changing the drives, SuperDupers! schedule can't find the new target.
I've tested the schedule with some extra jobs. One after 10 minutes, the next after 20 minutes, following...
After 10 minutes, when SuperDuper! is ready, i changed the drive to another (named the same).
The schedule gives an error 'can't find target volume'.
After that i changed the drive back, waiting for the next schedule.
Of course the next job went well.

I unchecked the preference 'remember source and destination'.

I can make a different schedule for each drive, i can name them different, thats not the point.
Is it possible to make a scheduled backup to 2 different external drives with the same name and schedule?

Greetings,

Peter

Last edited by PeterT; 08-16-2006 at 03:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to preserve icon of target volume during smartbackup? mypointofview General 62 12-08-2007 07:18 AM
Cannot find target volume Timmy General 6 03-13-2006 01:06 PM
SD sannot find target Volume problem braeside General 7 09-02-2005 03:59 PM
Error while trying to enable permissions on target volume Hoosier_1701 General 11 07-16-2005 11:50 AM
Cannot find target volume -- Even with volume mounted! cmod General 3 06-03-2005 09:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.