Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2006, 06:58 PM
MacDorq MacDorq is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Unexpected Quit cloning to Mac Pro

I keep getting an "Unexpected Quit" when cloning a master OSX 10.4.8 (Intel) system to a new 3 Ghz Dual Core Mac Pro. It has happened on two different machines. Never had a problem cloning the same system to dozens of Intel MacBooks.

The problem seems to happen at about 550MB into the cloning process.

Any thoughts as to why this may be happening? I checked off the ACL option as noted in a prior thread but it made no difference.

Thanks!!

Here is an excerpt fromt he crash log. I can post the entire thing if it would help.

OS Version: 10.4.8 (Build 8L2127)
Report Version: 4

Command: SuperDuper!
Path: /Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/MacOS/SuperDuper!
Parent: WindowServer [55]

Version: 2.1.3 (80)
Build Version: 2
Project Name: SuperDuper!
Source Version: 573

PID: 187
Thread: 2

Exception: EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (0x0002)
Code[0]: 0x0000000d
Code[1]: 0x00009afc

Thread 2 Crashed:
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9000101f pthread_mutex_lock + 168
1 com.apple.AppKit 0x932967bb -[NSFocusStack popTopView] + 62
2 com.apple.AppKit 0x932965f5 -[NSView unlockFocus] + 110
3 com.apple.AppKit 0x933dc280 -[NSUIHeartBeat unlockFocusInRect:] + 646
4 com.apple.AppKit 0x93420367 -[NSProgressIndicator heartBeat:] + 1452
5 com.apple.AppKit 0x93326572 -[NSUIHeartBeat _heartBeatThread:] + 1147
6 com.apple.Foundation 0x925f536c forkThreadForFunction + 123
7 libSystem.B.dylib 0x90023d87 _pthread_body + 84
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2006, 07:07 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We've seen a number of crashes similar to this in 10.4.8, which seems to be an OSX issue. We've reported it to Apple along with a number of examples from SD! and other applications (it's not SD specific)...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2006, 07:29 PM
flybaby6p2 flybaby6p2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
i have had similar experience... while trying to backup my mac book pro.
and while searching for any info about this on google, my safari crashed
with similar error message... crashed thread was executing 'pthread_mutex_lock' function...

believe it or not while i was filling out crash report for the crashed safary,
my crash reported crashed! the 'crashed' thread of the crash reported was executing same 'pthread_mutex_lock'!

i am not sure if this has anything to do with it but about 6 hours before this
problem started occuring i upgraded my firmware to EFI Firmware Update 1.2 ( MBP11.0055.B08 )

i still managed to backup my system by creating new account with admin rights... and backing up my drive using that account.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2006, 09:14 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yep, there you go. This is the same bug in OSX biting Safari, too. I'm pretty sure it has nothing to do with the EFI update, though...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2006, 09:08 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yeah, you'll really see this bug turn up in a lot of applications, unfortunately. Quite annoying...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2006, 05:49 PM
eq2675 eq2675 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Possible Fix!

I've had the exact same problem with my Mac Mini running 10.4.8 with all the updates including EFI. No problems at all with SuperDuper! until just recently.

I think I may have fixed it by doing all the maintenance and cleaning options available in OnyX

http://www.titanium.free.fr/pgs2/english/onyx.html

Time will tell.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2006, 05:57 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Seems unlikely -- the intermittent nature of the problem lends itself to "voodoo" fixes. Given what I know about what's happening, Onyx shouldn't have any effect.

(Note that hiding or minimizing SD! during the backup should, though.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2006, 10:18 PM
eq2675 eq2675 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Seems unlikely -- the intermittent nature of the problem lends itself to "voodoo" fixes. Given what I know about what's happening, Onyx shouldn't have any effect.

(Note that hiding or minimizing SD! during the backup should, though.)
FWIW, I checked system and kernel caches (among many other normally non- checked items) in OnyX when performing the cleanup.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:47 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. Well -- anyone else out there who this is happening to: care to give it a try?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force quit required after failed sparse image backup minckster General 1 09-16-2006 10:03 AM
Will not quit Margrave General 2 06-25-2006 01:20 PM
SD failed to quit & iTunes polarbear General 7 02-02-2006 02:45 PM
How long for cloning? BorisMD General 26 09-25-2005 02:32 PM
Activities During Cloning, Allowable? Pendragon General 3 09-12-2005 02:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.