Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2008, 08:34 PM
Heybud Heybud is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Upgrading to larger Hard Drive w/VMWare

I have a MacBook Pro and want to upgrade to a larger Hard Drive. My current HD has the standard Mac format & config, plus I have a partition utilizing Windows via VMWare. Is it possible with SD to backup a complete disk image (all partitions) to a USB backup drive and then after I install my new larger hard drive, restore this image to the new drive?

With the different partitions, I'm not clear how SuperDuper manages this and how it might restore to a larger Hard Drive. Can this be done this way?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2008, 09:50 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We only copy HFS+ (Mac OS Extended) partitions, Heybud. Sorry. But you might find this article helpful.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2008, 12:37 AM
Heybud Heybud is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
We only copy HFS+ (Mac OS Extended) partitions, Heybud. Sorry. But you might find this article helpful.
Dave, thanks! I'll handle the Windows partition separately, probably uninstalling it, then creating a simple bootable disk clone with SD. I see references to using a Fire Wire external disk as a bootable disk. Does it have to be Fire Wire or will USB work equally as well?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2008, 07:31 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
USB will work for Intel Macs, but not "equally", since it's significantly slower and more troublesome.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-13-2008, 06:34 PM
obeechi obeechi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
I recently, unplugged my maxtor one touch's usb, with the volumes (partitions) unmounted, then reconnected with firewire, and two volumes will not mount, diskwarrior couldn't rebuild it (though it gave me the chance to copy recovered files to another drive), I zeroed out a volume, tried diskwarrior again, it couldn't do anything, though it tried all night.

On the web, I found a post where someone using Linux had a problem with a maxtor where they felt it was a partition map corruption, and that a faulty usb/ide was responsible. So for now, I'm a little afraid of USB. Invalid node is what Disk Utility reported back. Not sure if Micromat TechTool can succeed where Diskwarrior couldn't. One thing I should have paid more attention to is that at one point a volume on this external drive appeared in the Finder as if it where an internal hard drive.

As far as VMware, not sure if you're running boot camp or a pure vm. If boot camp, winclone can back up your windows partition. If pure vm, superduper can make a copy to HFS+ no problem.

If you're going to partition a drive to run hfs+ and ntfs natively, then use Mac's Disk Utility to partition your drive using GUID as the partition scheme. The volume to be ntfs should be set to dos or fat while the othe drives should be Mac OS Extended (Journaled). I could do this with Tiger no problem -- but at an Apple store (with Leopard) just now, I could only see Mac OS Extended (Journaled) as an option. Later you use windows to switch the fat to ntfs.

Personally, I prefer pure vm's and virtual disks, because then I don't have to worry about windows 4 primary drive limits (the guid option creates an unseen primary drive), but then you might need to open up the vm with vmx extras, and edit the setting from TRUE to FALSE to disassociate a drive (this can be done in Fusion's settings by "minus-ing" the drive) (this applies for someone who might have a laptop with a vm and they want a virtual disk on an external drive -- the benefit is that you can access the drive with mac and your vm simultaneously with no toggling needed -- but the other day someone told that in the past on other vm products there were bug reports of when a vm and its virtual disks are in different locations -- I have four vmdk's, 2 internal, 2 external, and only the external would be disassociated (so I can boot when not attached to to the external drive)), and to reconnect you change FALSE to TRUE (easier to do this with VMX Extras than Fusion's own settings --- which requires browsing, and I'm not clear if it will reconnect correctly (whether it will be joined to a different scsi drive, or the same one). I'm told you can use Firewire to access these virtual disks, though I recall having some problem during vmdk creation, which didn't raise its head while accessing the drive via USB. That's something I need to look at again.

Last edited by obeechi; 09-13-2008 at 06:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 08:22 AM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM
Larger hard drive and SuperDuper aenzmin General 4 07-20-2006 09:44 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.