Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2009, 09:25 PM
EdE EdE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Help -- need help

I started doing a backup from my MacBook Pro (OS 10.5.8) to a new external drive, which apparently went haywire and stopped without completing. I tried it again and it stopped again, this time saying I had run out of disk space on my parent drive (on the MacBook Pro). I'm not particularly concerned about what happened wrong on the backup, but somehow during the two failed backup attempts the process filled up my MacBook Pro hard drive with approx. 50 gigs of extra data, about the same amount I was trying to back up. Now it barely has enough space to function - veerrrryy sloowwly.

I've looked for a large cache that might have been created by the screwed up backup attempts, but no luck so far.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2009, 09:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Use Finder's "Go To Folder" command to open

/Volumes

Delete any folders (not links/aliases) that you find there and empty your trash...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2009, 10:26 PM
EdE EdE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
no /volumes to be found. Any other thoughts? I checked the size of each folder (users, library, etc.) and they are the expected size. They add up to 65 gigs, which is what they should and the trash has been emptied. But DIsk Utility shows the entire 12- gig drive is chock full.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2009, 07:51 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
/Volumes is definitely there. Don't use spotlight: use "Go To Folder".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.