Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-24-2007, 12:02 AM
geoff geoff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Coast USA
Posts: 2
Talking smartbackup and "copy newer" rock

So I'm getting ready to ship my MBP to Apple, and wanted to do a full backup then zero my drive prior to letting it leave my hands. (My usual strategy is to do a full backup "every so often", create an ASR image of the full backup, then do incrementals to the live partition.)

Prior to doing the full backup, I forgot to take an image of the live partition. Sloppy, late at night, etc. I might never have noticed this, were it not for source I/O errors after I erased the live partition. Worse still, these errors were happening very early in the backup process, and I could see no way to have SD! continue past them. I didn't know I had a failing drive in addition to a bad DVI port.

After restoring my last "every so often" image to the live partition, the smartbackup/copy newer option was able to get all of my data. Apparently every one of the corrupted files was unchanged since the last successful backup. I'm a very happy man.

Now a quick question/feature request. Would it be possible to get a smart backup mode that can log I/O errors and keep trying subsequent files? In this case, if I'd had a newer corrupt file, I still would've wanted to copy the rest of my data and get a message telling me what I had lost. I was really dreading the prospect of writing that script myself, when I thought that was the feature I'd need

Thanks, and keep up the good work!

Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2007, 09:13 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I've written a bit about this issue in the "I/O Errors" post at the Shirt Pocket Watch blog. I'm glad you've managed to get a recovery -- lucky.

Rotate two backups, Geoff... I know you're kind of doing that already with the image, but you might want to do it with two partitions...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2007, 03:16 PM
geoff geoff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Coast USA
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
I've written a bit about this issue in the "I/O Errors" post at the Shirt Pocket Watch blog. I'm glad you've managed to get a recovery -- lucky.

Rotate two backups, Geoff... I know you're kind of doing that already with the image, but you might want to do it with two partitions...
Unfortunately, the way I use this machine (road warrior), the rotation tends to be manual and thus more failure prone than I'd like, as I just saw. The main problem is that the laptop is not predictably connected to backup drives.

Fortunately, most of the truly important stuff lives on a source control server and is automatically taken care of that way. I think I just became newly aware that there's a small but significant amount of stuff that's not "truly important" but that I would prefer not to lose, just the same.

What's the most fool-proof way you see to keep laptops that aren't on a nice, regular schedule automatically backed up?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2007, 06:20 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, you can use a product like "Do Something When" (see VersionTracker) and the general steps in the "One Touch Button" FAQ to have SD! automatically back up whenever a drive is attached... that'd be your best bet for now, I think.

Also, you could supplement your SD! usage with something like a Seagate Mirra, which would automatically back up your Mac over the network in a truly disconnected and automatic fashion...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change from "Copy Files To..." to SmartBackup Art-Dude General 1 04-05-2007 08:40 AM
"Copy Newer" and "Copy Different" ??? mpkalman General 10 08-16-2004 09:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.