Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2004, 11:12 AM
camner camner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 160
using system while cloning

It probably isn't recommended, but what happens if the system is being used while SD! is cloning...in particular, if one adds/deletes/alters files. Is it just "luck of the draw" in terms of where SD! is in its processing when the file add/change/delete takes place?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2004, 02:25 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You're right, in general it's not recommended. It won't necessarily hurt anything, but it's hit-or-miss depending on where SuperDuper! is at any given time. It doesn't "restart" the backup or anything like that.

But, next backup, any changes that were "skipped" will be backed up.

This is pretty consistent with any software that allows "live backups".

Does that make sense?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just need to make a bootable clone of my Mac kiwioz@mac.com General 17 05-04-2004 04:19 PM
System imaging MikeS General 1 04-02-2004 03:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.