Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2015, 03:08 PM
badhat badhat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
SD & TM with multiple drives

I’m hoping you can provide some solid advice on my backup configuration, and how it should be set up.

I have a Mac Mini (running 10.10.2) with TWO internal drives: a 60GB SSD (“Boot”) where I maintain the OS and applications, and a 500GB HDD (“Data”) containing my user files. I also have access to a shared 3TB network drive ("ND") and a dedicated (directly connected) 500GB HDD (“Backup”).

I’d like to arrange my backup strategy to utilize both SuperDuper and Time Machine, such that I’d always have a clone to boot from if necessary, and a TM backup to enable access to different versions of individual files.

How would you suggest I set this up, given the drives available? Will SD backup BOTH “Boot” and “Data” in one operation, or must they be separate? (Total storage on both of those drives <400GB.) How should SD be configured? What about Time Machine?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2015, 03:14 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,781
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, given you have a 500GB Data drive, and 60GB boot drive, you really need a 600GB backup drive, minimum, to properly back this up. Your Data will grow. It always does. And I don't know where you're planning on storing TM, since it needs about 2x the size as a minimum...

But, anyway, for SD, you'd partition the backup drive into two volumes, one 60GB and one the remaining space and schedule two "Backup - all files" with "Smart Update", from a source to its corresponding destination. You can set those for the same time if you'd like.

For Time Machine, well... I don't know. If the network volume supports TM, use that.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2015, 05:21 PM
badhat badhat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks, Dave. Appreciate your constant support of SD, as always.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2015, 06:15 PM
badhat badhat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
I've set up the partitions as you suggested, and ran each backup separately. In the middle of the Data backup (by far the larger of the two), my desktop items disappeared, and when the bu completed I'd lost permissions to my Home folder, as well as a few others.

After a pleasant afternoon resolving this issue, I'd now like to perform the backups again to make sure I'm up to date.

My question is: at one time SD would find unmounted disks that had been set up in scheduled copies. Then, this ceased working for a release or two of the OS. Will it again function now in Yosemite with latest SD?

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2015, 06:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,781
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Your "desktop items disappeared"? That couldn't possibly have anything to do with SuperDuper: we don't (and can't) change the source. What the heck was going on?

Yes, we fixed the problem Apple introduced in 10.8 (I think it was in 10.8), and auto mount works again.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2015, 07:08 PM
badhat badhat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
It turns out that permissions to access Documents, Mail, Desktop and a few other folders were somehow "turned off". When I rebooted after the backup was complete, my desktop items were gone, as that folder in my home directory couldn't be accessed. My custom desktop picture was replaced by El Capitan. When I looked at the folder in the Finder, it had the small red icon on it, and I couldn't open it.

I finally accessed my home directory, and proceeded to "Apply to enclosed items" -- upon rebooting again, all was OK (although my desktop items were not in original locations).

I know that SD didn't cause this, but curious how it all occurred. I plan to run another backup overnight and check the results. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Drives, Multiple Schedules Nick General 6 11-11-2009 04:44 PM
Using SuperDuper to clone multiple drives robbchadwick General 3 10-11-2009 10:36 AM
Using multiple drives horrendo General 1 08-13-2009 09:09 PM
Swapping Multiple Off-Site External Drives DebNCgal General 4 07-17-2009 05:39 PM
Backup noobie, multiple external drives, hand-holding? cococello General 1 11-26-2007 02:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.