Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2008, 09:39 AM
dariusp dariusp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Migrate Time Machine to Time Capsule

Hi,

I have been using Time Machine since Leopard came out with a disk connected to my Macbook Pro via FW800. I am going to buy a Time Capsule and would like to know if I can clone my existing TM backup to my Time Capsule using SD, so the backups can continue using the Time Capsule but all my old backups will still be available to me.

Has anyone tried this or know if any reason why this won't work?

Thanks

Darius
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2008, 10:43 AM
drdocument drdocument is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
Migrate Time Machine backup files

I want to do the same thing, move my existing Time Machine backup files to a Time Capsule so as to have continuous access to those older backups through Time Machine interface.

There's a simple answer in FAQ here:
http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/s...ead.php?t=3565

However, I'm wondering if there are any special things we need to do to make sure it works.

I suppose we could try it out. I have a G-Drive as my current TM destination, and I want to copy the backups directory to a Time Capsule while maintaining all links. If I don't erase the G-Drive I'm guessing I could always go back to it.

It would be important, of course, to turn Time Machine off before doing the copying.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2008, 10:54 AM
drdocument drdocument is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
Migrate Time Machine backup files

Okay. I turned off Time Machine in prefs, launched SuperDuper! and selected my current TM backup drive as the source, but Time Capsule does not appear in the "Copy to" pulldown.

What now?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2008, 11:05 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The TimeCapsule is networked, and doesn't store the data the same way as your 'directly connected' drive. Instead, it stores the data in a 'sparse bundle' with a special name.

What I'd try is to tell Time Machine to back up to the Time Capsule. When it starts, stop it, and it should have created the sparse bundle on the Time Capsule.

Open it, then use SuperDuper! to copy from your Time Machine backup to the sparse bundle's 'image'. It'll take a really long time, most likely, but should work. You can then turn TM back on.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2008, 11:09 AM
drdocument drdocument is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
Migrate Time Machine backup files

Thanks. I'll try that and report.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2008, 11:20 AM
drdocument drdocument is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
Okay. I started TM backing up to Time Capsule, then stopped it and turned off TM.

TM created a sparsebundle on TC, and in SuperDuper! when I select Disk Image in "Copy to" I can see the new sparsebundle, but it's grayed out so I can't select it.

I have the option to create a new folder on TC.

What now?

(Sorry to be dense, here)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2008, 11:30 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Don't select disk image. Open the bundle and choose its volume (what it opens as) in the destination pop-up directly.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cloning from a backup and Time Machine Weirdness isaac General 3 03-27-2008 01:09 PM
Recomended config for iMac, Time Machine and time Capsule DavidFerrington General 4 03-24-2008 09:21 AM
SuperDuper for Time Capsule egordin General 3 03-01-2008 08:40 AM
Time Machine Behavior nkhester General 0 02-15-2008 03:53 PM
A different angle on SD & Time Machine integration badlydrawnboy General 10 10-26-2007 08:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.