Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2017, 03:08 PM
ashleykaryl ashleykaryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 70
Copying user back to boot drive

For the last year or so I've been using a 256gig SSD on a PCI card as the boot drive, but kept 600+ gigs of user files on a much larger internal SATA drive. This has worked well enough, however it's starting to cause difficulties with some apps, since OS X now blocks certain processes viewed as cross origin, even though it's on the same computer and clearly linked.

The solution it seems, would be to move my essential user data onto the SSD and have the system recognise that inside system preferences. In theory I could simply drag & drop my User's Library folder from the SATA over to the SSD and then choose that inside system preferences, followed by a restart. That's about 45 gigs of data.

Then it occurred to me that SuperDuper! might be a much safer bet, but I wondered if it could be configured to only copy the required data to the corresponding position on the SSD boot drive?

A lot of the files I have under my user could be stored on other drives, such as business accounts and work info etc. I also understand iMovie for example can happily access data from other drives, so all I really want is the essential user data needed to run the system on that SSD.

Thanks

Ashley
__________________
Author of Colour Management Pro https://colourmanagementpro.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2017, 06:33 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We're not going to be able to isolate a folder and copy that as a folder to the other drive. You'd be better off, in this case, copying with Finder and using "Paste Exactly" to copy it to the SSD.

Or, maybe by using the advanced user preferences in system preferences you can clearly tell the system that your Home folder is on the other drive?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2017, 06:07 AM
ashleykaryl ashleykaryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 70
I have been using the system preferences already to indicate that the user folder is on another drive, but unfortunately changes in the OS are throwing up a few problems now, because certain elements are viewed as cross origin and therefore blocked when the user is on another drive.

I guess I'll give the finder option a go, but I've never seen an option for Paste Exactly. I've seen paste and match style, but only for text.
__________________
Author of Colour Management Pro https://colourmanagementpro.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2017, 07:10 AM
ashleykaryl ashleykaryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 70
I've just found information about Paste Exactly. You learn something every day with Macs!
__________________
Author of Colour Management Pro https://colourmanagementpro.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2017, 07:49 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We try to keep you on your toes, Ashley!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2017, 09:56 AM
ashleykaryl ashleykaryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 70
Just a quick follow up to say that worked perfectly using the paste exactly trick. The OS wouldn't let me copy/paste the actual Library folder, so the trick is not to select the user Library folder, but the inner contents. On a side note, you'll probably have make the user Library visible via the terminal.

After copying across all the Library contents you'll have to change the user startup under advanced options in the system preference user settings before restarting. Always make a backup first using SuperDuper!

To make this work I've had to leave a lot of the big things like the iMovie database and music library on the old SATA, but these can easily be accessed via symlinks. Overall this is a much better solution than I had previously.
__________________
Author of Colour Management Pro https://colourmanagementpro.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2017, 11:31 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Glad to hear it! :-)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't boot into the SuperDuper backup drive. MMM General 8 02-19-2015 03:04 PM
SD cloned drive switched to internal will not boot hapmac General 9 04-29-2011 12:41 AM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
A SuperDuper Back Up Strategy Bagelturf General 3 09-09-2007 01:23 PM
Long Hang While Copying BackerUpper General 4 06-12-2006 08:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.