Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:28 AM
jjg jjg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
No such file or directory

My backup is failing with this error:

|12:10:04 AM|Info| WARNING: Caught I/O exception(2): No such file or directory
|12:10:04 AM|Info| WARNING: Source: /Applications/BBEdit 7.0/BBEdit Support/Scripts/02)Open Folder/"BBEdit Prefs" Folder, lstat(): 0
|12:10:04 AM|Info| WARNING: Target: /tmp/SVUmount/Applications/BBEdit 7.0/BBEdit Support/Scripts/02)Open Folder/"BBEdit Prefs" Folder, lstat(): -1
|12:10:04 AM|Info| WARNING: Could not copy file with Cocoa frameworks. Attempting to copy with ditto.
|12:10:04 AM|Error| ditto: /Applications/BBEdit 7.0/BBEdit Support/Scripts/02)Open Folder/BBEdit: No such file or directory

"BBEdit Prefs" Folder is actually an AppleScript file, not a folder, despite its name. Is SuperDuper choking on the quotation marks in the name? If not, what's going on here?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2005, 12:29 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hm. It certainly shouldn't be choking on the name, but there are a lot of special characters in there, including -- quite unusually -- some quotes around the name of the file itself. But we pass the filename directly to internal routines that shouldn't care what the name is.

Can the file be copied with the Finder?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2005, 12:47 PM
jjg jjg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
The file copies fine in the Finder.

To be clear, the name of the file is:
"BBEdit Prefs" Folder

There are other files with quotation marks in the filename that SuperDuper copied without incident, but this is the first file it encountered with a quotation mark as the first character.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2005, 01:19 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yeah, that should be fine regardless -- we don't really care about the characters in the name.

A few things to try:

- Duplicate "BBEdit Prefs" Folder in the finder, trash the original, and rename the duplicate. That might resolve the issue.

- If not, could you send me the whole SuperDuper!.log via mail?

Thanks.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2005, 11:45 AM
jjg jjg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Well, I renamed all the files that had a quotation mark as the first character in the name, and this time it worked.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2005, 12:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Really! Very interesting. Of course, it's possible there's some kind of bug in the functions we're calling (as I said, we're not parsing the file there), but it's not something we've ever seen before. But there's always a first time.

We'll take a look and see if we can repro. Thanks for the follow-up!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-2005, 12:49 PM
jjg jjg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
The log for the session that worked also doesn't contain the non-fatal errors seen in the log I sent you. So maybe that's a clue -- something else was broken that cascaded down to the quotation mark killing the process.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2005, 02:07 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Egad, I'm dealing with so many cases right now I've misplaced the # of yours... could you provide it?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smart Update Deletes Rest of Volume? Pixx General 12 04-26-2005 10:04 AM
File Preventing Successful Backup michael k General 4 03-18-2005 10:02 AM
User data outside of Home directory hkaufman General 5 02-27-2005 05:14 PM
When I try to copy a single directory, I end up copying the whole disk. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 06-22-2004 06:59 PM
My backup is failing on the file /Library/Frameworks/StuffIt.framework/.DS_Store! dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-07-2004 08:55 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.