Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Old 09-19-2007, 11:36 AM

Thumbs up First time caller here with just a few questions...

Hi all, i just installed superduper on a brandspanking new macbookpro and so far so good. i just had a few questions and kudos to the developers for making it so simple to get started. I am also a bit new to OSX, coming from decades of microsoft pain and suffering. I was using Acronis Truimage for years and would like to know the following:
* is superduper like carbon copy cloner as in bit for bit backups, and that would be like Acronis but just easier?
* is there a recovery procedure for restoring a caput system from an image sitting on a windows server, which is where i am backing up to right now.
"* is 1.5MB/s backup speed what one would expect over a SOHO lan? that's what I am getting now and that's what i was getting with Acronis, but Acronis was doing heavy compression....is superduper doing any? that would be a bonus!
Well, thanks for a cool product...
Old 09-19-2007, 11:43 AM
Administrator

Send a message via AIM to dnanian
SD! does bit-for-bit file backups, yes, but the files are copied one at a time. We're not block copying.

To recover from a Windows server, you'd have to bring up a basic install of OSX so you can access the image over the network. You could do this with a small partition, etc -- DasBoot (see VerisonTracker) might be able to help with this, too.

Then, you restore as in "Recovering from a disaster "in the User's Guide.

We're not compressing, no. A straight copy over a network depends a lot on what the network's doing, how fast the server's responding, etc -- I get 4-6MB/s on Gigabit ethernet to an Infrant ReadyNAS NV. A subsequent Smart Update, in any case, will be faster.

Hope that helps!
Old 09-19-2007, 12:25 PM

Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post