Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2023, 12:03 AM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
needed to erase internal disk

So I tried to do a copy to my internal disk from a backup, and it strangely kept giving me errors without completing. The error said something to the effect that there wasn't enough disk space. So I finally just used Disk Utility to erase the whole internal disk, and then the copy from my backup went without a hitch. What happened? Why would a SuperDuper copy find itself without enough room? (The disk that the backup was made from had plenty of extra room.) SuperDuper is supposed to be replacing what was on the disk with what is in the backup for that disk.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2023, 07:42 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Without the details, sent with the "Send to shirt pocket" button, it's hard to be sure, but this is quite likely covered in the Troubleshooting section of the User's Guide.

Remember - Smart Delete will only run if it knows how much space it needs to recover...attribute copies don't know, and that can give disk full errors.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2023, 09:31 AM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
Well, maybe my mistake was that I just reflexively used Smart Update, instead of asking that the internal disk be erased first. Does Smart Update require more space than and Erase-then-copy? I've copied back from a backup before without dong that, though. So something was different this time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2023, 09:37 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Smart Update acts "on encounter" - it walks the drive and does what it's supposed to do at that moment. It doesn't "pre-delete" files.

So, if you (for example) rename a large folder, and we hit the "new" name before the old, we'll copy the new data before deleting the old. That can fill the drive.

Smart Delete will typically "note" this situation and, when we run out of space and know how much space we need, it'll look ahead and free up that amount of space so the operation will succeed. (There's a whole blog post about this - https://www.shirt-pocket.com/blog/in.../smarty_pants/ - that you might find worth reading along with the Troubleshooting section.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2023, 09:23 PM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
Thank you. So I think the answer is that, yes, when doing a restoration, always do it in Erase, then Copy mode.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2023, 09:49 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That isn't what I said, no.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple errors of kind: "Caught I/O exception(5): Input/output error" amagjo General 7 04-14-2009 11:01 PM
Cannot Read SuperDuper! Image from Tiger in Leopard ecornips General 2 12-11-2007 10:50 PM
Erase, then Copy: Disk Image Size Planning gbeb General 1 07-05-2007 01:15 PM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 11:28 AM
Disk Utility problem after cloning macWish General 38 10-01-2005 02:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.