Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:14 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
Unable to start-up from bootable clone

Hi

Unable to boot from my firewire external HD.

Here's the background: Today, I backed up my G4 iBook (OS 10.4.10) to my firewire external drive using SuperDuper. Something I have done many times with no problems. This time was no exception. After the backup was complete (all green), selected OK on the SuperDuper panel, then quit application. Lastly, via the Finder I unmounted the drive.

Next, via Software Update, I installed Quicktime 7.2 and iTunes 7.3. No problem with the Install. Selected "restart". Upon the restart, grey screen>spinning wheel for 45 minutes. Finally, pressed the power key to shut off the iBook.

Connected my Firewire drive, pressed power key while holding down the Option key. Amber light appeared on the external drive, and I could hear the disk inside spinning. At the Option screen, only the iBook's HD appears. Nothing for the external. Selected the "refresh" button several times. No go.

Press powered button and cleared PRAM. After the 4th chime, held down the option key. Same result as before. Not sure why the drive is not being recognized as a bootable option.

Need help with this one. Not sure what else I can do here.

Thanks
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'd power everything off, including disconnecting the FW drive from AC and FW. Get the iBook to the Option-boot screen. Plug in the LaCie to AC, listen for it to spin up then plug into FW and refresh the Option-boot screen...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:33 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
Able to boot from external, but no HD recognized

Tried another tact. Plugged in external drive, then restarted computer and cleared PRAM. Immediately held down Option Key. This time the iBook's HD and the external drive appeared. Selected external and computer fully restarted.

Opened SuperDuper. Recognizes bootable drive, however, does not find the iBook's HD? Drop down menu gives me three choices: 2 partitions on the external (second one is not bootable) and disk image. What happened to the iBook's HD?

Seems like I need to reinstall OS X on the iBook, upgrade to 10.4.10, then restart via the External and copy back to the iBook. Is this correct? Otherwise, I don't know how I can get SU to recognize the iBook's HD.


_________________

OK. This is a Universal test I guess. Went back to the iBook. Click on the "to" drop down menu and now iBook's HD appears. Whew. Restoring drive as I type.

I'll post back.
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac

Last edited by 2stepbay; 07-18-2007 at 10:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:35 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you're running from the external, does the internal HD show up in Disk Utility? If it's unmounted, mount it there...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2007, 11:00 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
Restore successful

Restore took 14:14. Restarted. iBook is now back to its original state.

Really appreciate the ease with how this restore process works. Sure saved me a lot of time, not to mention preserving my HD information.

I'm going to try the QT and iTunes install again. I guess practice makes perfect here.

Thanks again Dave for creating a great product that works as advertised.
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2007, 11:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There are some reported problems with those updates, so you might want to be slightly careful - I read today that Apple was investigating some issues.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Clone Not Bootable slickmrick General 11 08-12-2006 12:08 PM
Bootable clone on a new drive? robD General 1 07-11-2005 02:57 PM
Safety Clone fails to start up after shut down macWish General 4 06-23-2004 05:29 PM
Just need to make a bootable clone of my Mac kiwioz@mac.com General 17 05-04-2004 04:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.