Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2005, 01:02 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
reblessing 9.2.2 system folder

I had to reinstall OS X on my main drive due to complications with Expose I have yet to figure out. Since my backups via SuperDuper have the same problem it made no sense to use them.

Upon reinstalling (did an erase) I forgot to set up the drivers for OS 9 (my machine can boot into 9 also). I thought I could move the OS 9 sys. folder from my external back into my HD, however, I noticed after moving the folder it was not "blessed". Result is "no classic".

Is there an easy way to get around this problem? I noticed the OS 9 folders on the external don't appear blessed, however, I can access Classic when I'm booting from the external (go figure).

thanks
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:55 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,737
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
2stepbay:

Very strange: I don't understand how Exposť could force you to reinstall OSX! What, exactly, were you running into?

As far as I know, Classic doesn't require the system folder to be blessed, so I'm not at all sure why it wouldn't be selectable in the Classic preference pane. Does it just not show up? How are you judging whether or not it's blessed?

You very likely won't be able to boot into OS9 without the disk drivers, though...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2005, 12:24 PM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
Question reblessing 9.2.2 system folder

It is very strange. About 2 weeks ago, when I activated the Expose "desktop" command, a neat, miniature stacked pile of open windows appeared on my desktop, instead of their moving off the screen. The bigger problem was the "dead zone" on my monitor this "pile" created.

I posted this situation on 2 Mac forums. No one had an answer for why this was happening. Perhaps, my computer is turning into an oracle of sorts showing me an Apple feature from the future.

By clicking/dragging, I literally could move the pile around the desktop, but not off it. The placement of the pile created a specific "dead zone" on my monitor. It kept me from entering text, selecting a link, or even using certain selections on the Apple menu.

When I booted into my backups, I realized the same problem was affecting them. The only change in my system prior to seeing this mysterious pile was using Candy Bar to change some of my system icons.

At first I thought an archive/install would fix the problem. No go. Pile still appeared. Finally, out of frustration I just erased the disk and started over. First time I have ever used the "erase disk" feature. What a process.

Unfortunately, I forgot to check off the OS 9 driver section.Hence, my current problem. Maybe this is the Universe's way of saying "let go of 9". All my apps are OS X. However, since my machine can boot into 9, I have retained 9 as another option to access my system in the event of a major unforseen problem with X.

I know my external partitions have OS 9 still intact as the startup panel shows them.

Thinking I could simply drop/drag the System Folder back to my HD was a bit naive, as the startup panel doesn't recognize the System Folder. Hence, my question about "reblessing".

It's been a very strange computer month since I acquired my first external drive. 3 years of sketchy backups (DVDs, zip disks) and never a problem. New drive...backup hell! Again...go figure.

Perhaps I need to reevaluate my existing backup strategy. That both partitions were affected by the same problem tells me carrying 2 similar copies of the HD is not a good strategy (I backup one on the alternate day using the "smart update" feature) .
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2005, 05:13 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,737
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's not that strange, actually: it's a feature of Exposť that was deliberately hidden by Apple. There's a way to turn it on and off without erasing your system! But you must have run something and requested it to be turned on: are you certain you didn't do that? One of the system maintenance programs, perhaps?

If you didn't install the drivers, it's unlikely you'll be able to boot into 9. But you certainly should be able to select the system folder in the Classic preference pane!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2005, 03:55 AM
2stepbay 2stepbay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 83
the culprit

Discovered the latest version of OnyX has the desktop feature checked in the preference panel! After unchecking, Expose was back to its old self. Strange that it's activation creates a "dead zone". Whatever....

As far as Classic, I'm now able to run it. Also, I can boot into it. I don't understand why it wouldn't run...now does. Perhaps the system restart blessed the folders. Another "whatever".!
__________________
2017 iMac 40 gb RAM; 2TB Fusion SSD (10.14.6)
MacBook Pro 15" 2.3ghz i7/ 16 gb RAM; 500GB SSD (11.1)

Western Digital My Passport Slim 1TB, USB 3.0 for MBP
Envoy Pro EX SSD - Thunderbolt 3 for iMac

Last edited by 2stepbay; 02-13-2005 at 03:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2005, 08:08 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,737
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yeah -- I think that the reason this 'feature' of Exposť wasn't actually released is that it does things like create a dead zone.

Sometimes, hacking this stuff with OnyX (et all) creates problems... glad you found what was doing it!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My copy script says SuperDuper! should ignore a folder, but it's copied. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 12-24-2004 02:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.