Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2008, 05:23 AM
tommasoh tommasoh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Restore from a backup stored alongside Time Machine

Hello all,

This may have been asked already, but I can't seem to find it in the forums.
Before rethinking my partitioning scheme I would like to know what happens when restoring a SD backup which is saved alongside TimeMachine.

Is the Backups.backupdb folder ignored during the restore? Or SD defaults to copying the whole content of the SD+Timemachine partition?

I understand that it's ok to store alongside TM volumes, but there's no mention of what happens when trying to restore as opposed to a backup in its own partition.

Thanks and sorry if this is stupidly trivial...:-)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2008, 07:53 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The "Restore - all files" script ignores "Backups.backupdb" when restoring.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2008, 03:37 PM
carstenw carstenw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
I have the same setup for backing up my laptop boot drive to an external disk. I used to use Smart Copy to allow booting from this drive, but had to disable it since it would blow away my TimeMachine backups, so I use Copy New now. Is there any way for me to have my cake and eat it too?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2008, 05:45 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Smart Update will preserve Time Machine backups, as it says in the "What's going to happen?" section of the UI.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2008, 05:15 AM
carstenw carstenw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Huh? It blew away mine? Okay, I will try it again, making sure I have the latest version. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2008, 08:24 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you were using v2.5, and were using "Smart Update", it wouldn't touch your Time Machine data. "Erase, then copy", would, of course.

The "What's going to happen?" section will definitely indicate explicitly what will happen to the Time Machine data.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backup file size—SD vs. Time Machine jotaro General 10 06-23-2009 10:00 AM
Using SuperDuper for an offsite Time Machine backup toy General 1 07-26-2008 12:02 PM
Cloning from a backup and Time Machine Weirdness isaac General 3 03-27-2008 01:09 PM
Time Machine to an existing SD backup volume? scutchen General 1 02-22-2008 02:26 PM
How do I store a bootable backup side-by-side with my Time Machine data? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 02-07-2008 06:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.