Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2004, 04:40 PM
mactastic1 mactastic1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
"Install Package" option

Please explain what I'm supposed to choose when prompted for the location of a package during safety clone. I don't understand packages.



From User Guide: When you select Install package..., SuperDuper prompts you for the location of the package file you want to install. This can be located on a mounted disk image, or any location other than the source.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2004, 04:48 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,780
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No problem -- that's a bit of an advanced option: sorry if it's unclear.

This can be used to install a package, such as a standalone system update. For example, Mac OS X 10.3.3 comes, sometimes, on a DMG, rather than through Software Update. By mounting the DMG during the Safety Clone process, you can tell SuperDuper! to install the package that's on that DMG (the icon looks like a "package" -- it's a special bundle of files that's used by Apple's Installer program), you can save a teeny bit of time.

For most users, though, this is something you can safely ignore. Instead, you'd create the Safety Clone, boot from it, and then just run Software Update when you're booted from the Sandbox: Software Update will automatically download the "package" and install it.

Hope that helps to explain things a bit.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2004, 06:01 PM
mactastic1 mactastic1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks for responding so FAST! What great service!

I'll just ignore the "package" option - it sounds like I don't need it.

You don't have to answer this next question, I'm just curious about something: Where did the term/name "Sandbox" originate (in relation to Mac) and what do I need to know about it, if anything?

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2004, 06:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,780
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We try to turn questions around quickly if we can!

I don't think Sandbox comes from the Mac world at all. It's sort of an old term, at least in the computer world... I just resurrected it because it seemed appropriate for the Safety Clone, implying that you can "play in it" without worrying about getting hurt, etc.
__________________
--Dave Nanian

Last edited by dnanian; 08-21-2004 at 08:35 AM. Reason: Fixed typo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.