Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2008, 03:59 AM
midwich midwich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Time Machine archive: safe way to test it's OK?

Just used SuperDuper's SmartUpdate to backup my TimeMachine drive - took around a quarter of the time it took Carbon Copy Cloner to do a block-by-block copy, so really really happy.

But - how can I be sure the backup is fully functional? Time Machine is a persnickety beast, and I'm not about to try and guess the procedure using commonsense! Anyone already taken the plunge, and can lay out the steps that definitely work - and which allow one to revert to the main Time Machine drive afterwards?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2008, 02:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,782
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, you could certainly just point to it with Time Machine and see when your oldest backup is, for example... but if the copy was successful I'm pretty sure it's just fine.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2008, 07:24 PM
midwich midwich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Well, you could certainly just point to it with Time Machine and see when your oldest backup is, for example... but if the copy was successful I'm pretty sure it's just fine.
Thanks for this! I also found that if you right-click the Time Machine symbol in the dock there's a 'Browse other Time Machine disks..' option, which worked fine for me, so the smart copy is obviously fine.

One thing - going by the flashing lights on the two drives, to get back to viewing your main Time Machine drive you have to go back to 'Browse other Time Machine disks..' and actively select it. Counterintuitive, at least to me, so worth mentioning.

Anyway, thanks again!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine to an existing SD backup volume? scutchen General 1 02-22-2008 03:26 PM
Time Machine stopped working - SuperDuper involved? adriansmith General 18 02-20-2008 04:48 PM
Time Machine Behavior nkhester General 0 02-15-2008 04:53 PM
A different angle on SD & Time Machine integration badlydrawnboy General 10 10-26-2007 09:37 PM
Long Hang While Copying BackerUpper General 4 06-12-2006 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.