Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2005, 12:17 PM
gatorron gatorron is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Mounting Catch 22

Sorry if this problem seems lame to you experts, but I'm confused.

I'm trying to backup all files to my Lacie external HD from my internal iMac G5 160 GB HD. It gets about 17 seconds into the operation, then errors out. The log says it can't unmount the Lacie disk.

But when I go to Disk Utility and unmount the disk, then SD doesn't see it anymore. Frankly, I don't understand what the purpose of mounting and unmounting is, but now I guess I'm going to learn.

All I want is a complete backup. It's worked before, I didn't change anything -- except I updated to 10.3.9.

I'm getting Tiger when it's released. I hope they've done something to make this whole process easier.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2005, 12:48 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No such thing as a 'lame' problem, gatorron!

This seems a bit strange. A few things I'd suggest to start with:

- If you're running Norton AntiVirus, please turn off Auto Protect
- Check LaCie's site and make sure you've got the most recent firmware installed for the drive
- Once all that's done, restart the machine with the FireWire drive disconnected, then connect it once you're restarted
- Give the backup another shot

If that doesn't work, please send the SuperDuper!.log to support (it's off your Home folder, in Library/Logs -- just attach it to the email), and I'll take a look and see if there are any hints. A System Profiler report would be helpful, too: to generate, run System Profiler, choose File | Save and save to the default (XML) format. Then, attach that to the mail, too. (If you use the Finder to archive the two files, the attachment will be a lot smaller.)

Thanks!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2005, 07:22 PM
gatorron gatorron is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Re-start did it

Well, I do not run Norton, and I couldn't find anything about latest firmware, but a re-start seemed to be the medicine needed, so thanks for the tip.

I really enjoy the way Mac people help each other. It's really cool.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2005, 07:41 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Glad to be of service!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An (Applescript) hack to automate mounting and unmounting external volumes kbradnam General 12 07-30-2007 08:12 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.