Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:20 AM
chaver4u chaver4u is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Israel
Posts: 2
How to copy back-up to an older Mac

I have been using SuperDuper! to faithfully backup my MacBook Pro on a regular basis.

Now I need SuperDuper! to transfer the backed-up material to my old PowerBook G4, because my MacBook Pro is gone.

But.......when I want to copy from BACK-UP to POWERBOOK I can't: the POWERBOOK name appears in the COPY TO pull-down menu, but it is dimmed.

Now what?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:23 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can't restore to a drive you're running from. But that's not a problem... usually.

This might be difficult, because you're trying to copy from an Intel Mac to a Power PC Mac. But, you can try starting up from the backup by holding Option down during startup, and selecting the drive. Once you're running from the backup, you should be able to restore to the internal.

If you can't start up from the backup (because it's set up for your MacBook Pro), you'll want to clean install Leopard to your PowerBook. It'll prompt you to 'copy from another Mac': point at the backup volume and it'll bring in your applications, accounts and data.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2009, 02:26 AM
chaver4u chaver4u is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Israel
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
You can't restore to a drive you're running from. But that's not a problem... usually.

This might be difficult, because you're trying to copy from an Intel Mac to a Power PC Mac. But, you can try starting up from the backup by holding Option down during startup, and selecting the drive. Once you're running from the backup, you should be able to restore to the internal.

If you can't start up from the backup (because it's set up for your MacBook Pro), you'll want to clean install Leopard to your PowerBook. It'll prompt you to 'copy from another Mac': point at the backup volume and it'll bring in your applications, accounts and data.
I will try both, but before I do another question:
My backup is about 90GB and my PowerBook G4 has only a 40GB HD. Can I remove my pics, songs and movies (about 50GB) from the backup without "destroying" the backup, and then copy the remainder of my backup to the PowerBook G4?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2009, 04:06 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaver4u View Post
Can I remove my pics, songs and movies (about 50GB) from the backup without "destroying" the backup, and then copy the remainder of my backup to the PowerBook G4?
If you delete files from the backup they'll be permanently gone but you could still restore any that haven't been deleted.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-16-2009 11:53 PM
Failed to copy error lmatheo General 1 03-20-2009 08:27 AM
A SuperDuper Back Up Strategy Bagelturf General 3 09-09-2007 01:23 PM
SD! & HDD copy speed fun DaleMeyn General 3 03-20-2006 04:24 PM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.