Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2006, 08:17 PM
whatisup whatisup is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
backup no longer bootable

so up until about a week ago, all was well with my external fire wire drive back up. now I can't boot into it. the start up screen takes about five minutes to complete and then i get the log in window. my user name and password do not work for the bootable back up. prior to this problem i was never asked for my user name and password to start up from (boot) from the FWD and the start up screen took about five seconds to complete. i am the only account on the HD (admin) and I have not installed any updates from apple. the only thing i have done differently on my HD is to make a "smart mailbox" for my unread mail messages in apple mail to go into. I can access all of the data on my FWD, I just can't boot from it anymore. I am using 10.4.2. any thoughts?

thanks,

whatisup
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2006, 12:49 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Are you using Smart Update, Erase, then copy, Copy Newer or Copy Different?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2006, 01:38 AM
whatisup whatisup is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
I had been using "copy newer files from the HD to the FWD". under "standard scripts" i had been using "backp - all files". I started with a new blank FWD, then i formatted it and started using SD from there.

thanks for your quick response.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2006, 09:03 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK, whatisup. As indicated in the User's Guide, "Copy Newer" and "Copy Different" do not guarantee a bootable result. You have to use either "Smart Update" or "Erase, then copy".

If you Smart Update the drive at this point, it should fix it up so you can once again boot from it. Note, though, that it will also remove any files from the destination that are not present (and selected) on the source.

Hope that helps!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2006, 12:50 PM
whatisup whatisup is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Dave

you have been very helpful. thank you so much. i will give this a try.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2006, 01:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No problem, whatisup. Hopefully this'll take care of it!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootable step required for data backup only? hattorihanzo General 2 03-14-2006 08:17 PM
Make target bootable when source is not bootable after Backup - all files bammi General 1 11-30-2005 02:10 PM
System not seeing backup as bootable network23 General 9 11-14-2005 11:09 AM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 11:42 AM
icons in bootable backup gone snoopy67 General 3 07-05-2005 09:19 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.