Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2005, 12:22 AM
Pisces Pisces is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Copy Script for Applications folder?

In addition to my Users folder, I have backed up my Applications folder to an external drive. I'd very much like to use Copy Newer to update the Applications folder periodically, just as I do to update Users. I've read the Copy Scripts section of the manual and experimented a bit with it, but if there is a way to do what I described, I can't figure out what it is -- unless it's "Back up - all files" and then "Ignore" everything but the Applications folder. Is there any other way to do it?

TIA -- and thanks also for a great app with terrific user support.

Pisces
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2005, 09:46 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Are you sure you want to isolate these two updates like this? It won't be significantly faster than a full "Backup - all files", especially if you use Smart Update (or Copy Newer), since we always "walk" the entire drive (since the scripts themselves can be arbitrarily complex).

But, if you really want to do this, the best way is to create a brand new copy script. Include the "Exclude all files" script in the 2nd tab, and then add the Applications folder in the 3rd. Make sure the command in front is "copy", save with an appropriate name, and you should be all set.

Make sense?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:18 AM
Pisces Pisces is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Are you sure you want to isolate these two updates like this? It won't be significantly faster than a full "Backup - all files", especially if you use Smart Update (or Copy Newer), since we always "walk" the entire drive (since the scripts themselves can be arbitrarily complex).
The external drive is USB and not bootable; my bootable clone is on a Firewire drive on another machine. We're talking Applications archives here, not emergency clone; the more-frequent temporary Users-only backup just happens to be on the same USB drive as my archives because there's lots of room on it. But I didn't make that clear. Sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
But, if you really want to do this, the best way is to create a brand new copy script. Include the "Exclude all files" script in the 2nd tab, and then add the Applications folder in the 3rd. Make sure the command in front is "copy", save with an appropriate name, and you should be all set.

Make sense?
It does. Somehow I missed seeing the "Exclude all files" script. I'll have another look. Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:24 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
My pleasure. Let me know how it works out for you!

(Remember, too, that backing up /Applications isn't truly sufficient for an application backup... it'll only get "part" of non-drag-and-drop applications...)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2005, 06:51 PM
Pisces Pisces is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
My pleasure. Let me know how it works out for you!

(Remember, too, that backing up /Applications isn't truly sufficient for an application backup... it'll only get "part" of non-drag-and-drop applications...)
Wooooo. Thanks! I didn't know that. If you have a moment: which "part"?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2005, 06:53 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That depends on the application, of course! Many applications have fonts, frameworks and other elements that are stored in other locations of the file system.

This is why I always recommend that people do a full backup. It doesn't take more time, and guarantees that things are *truly* backed up... when you try to be 'selective', you can sometimes leave important things out, and running them all down is quite difficult.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 04:50 PM
Script to copy only certain files nakris General 2 04-14-2005 05:16 PM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 09:46 AM
My copy script says SuperDuper! should ignore a folder, but it's copied. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 12-24-2004 02:42 PM
ASR Image freeze PeterBest General 5 12-01-2004 09:02 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.