Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2007, 03:25 PM
tcmcam tcmcam is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
SuperDuper Not Writing to Network disk Image

We are using SuperDuper to backup (SmartUpdate) a machine to a shared network drive.

When we try to write to the network drive, the following error occurs.

SD Copy: Error Creating Directory Read Only File System


-------

The disk image is getting created, but it won't read/write to it.

The disk image is then MOUNTED as READ ONLY!!!

Why??

-------

HELP!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2007, 03:29 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Try mounting the disk in Finder, then pointing to the volume, rather than the file. Make sure it's read-write and then have SD! back up to it that way.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-2007, 03:41 PM
tcmcam tcmcam is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Yeah, but...

But then will it auto dismount the image???

Why would this happen in the first place??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-06-2007, 04:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, it won't auto dismount, but it'll auto mount.

It happens when the share isn't set to allow full access to all users, and the console user isn't the same as the network user.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-06-2007, 04:21 PM
tcmcam tcmcam is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Here's the log

| 04:17:09 PM | Info | SuperDuper!, 2.1.4 (82), path:
/Applications/SuperDuper!.app, Mac OS 10.3.9 build 7W98 (ppc)
| 04:17:09 PM | Info | Started on Fri, Jul 6, 2007 at 4:17 PM
| 04:17:09 PM | Info | Source Volume: Macintosh HD 2, mount:
/Volumes/Macintosh HD 2, device: /dev/disk0s9, media: QUANTUM FIREBALLP
KX20.5, interconnect: Internal ATA, file system: "HFS+", OS: N/A,
capacity: 19.15 GB, used: 15.63 GB, directories: 492, files: 4700,
ejectable: NO, ACLs: Disabled
| 04:17:09 PM | Info | Target Image: /Volumes/Backup/untitled
folder/Kaye - Mac HD 2.sparseimage, name: Kaye - Mac HD 2
| 04:17:09 PM | Info | Copy Mode : Smart Update
| 04:17:09 PM | Info | Copy Script : Backup - all files.dset
| 04:17:09 PM | Info | Transcript : BuildTranscript.plist
| 04:17:10 PM | Info | PHASE: 1. Prepare to Copy Files
| 04:17:10 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Preparing Macintosh HD 2
| 04:17:10 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying the integrity of
volinfo.database
| 04:17:10 PM | Info | volinfo.database OK
| 04:17:10 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on
Macintosh HD 2
| 04:17:10 PM | Info | Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
| 04:17:11 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are
enabled for Macintosh HD 2
| 04:17:11 PM | Info | Permissions on '/Volumes/Macintosh HD 2'
are enabled.
| 04:17:11 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Mounting Kaye - Mac HD 2
| 04:17:11 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Preparing Kaye - Mac HD 2
| 04:17:11 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Setting ownership and access
modes for '/Volumes/Backup/untitled folder/Kaye - Mac HD 2.sparseimage'
| 04:17:11 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Mounting Kaye - Mac HD 2
| 04:17:14 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Preparing Kaye - Mac HD 2
| 04:17:14 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on Kaye -
Mac HD 2
| 04:17:14 PM | Info | Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
| 04:17:14 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are
enabled for Kaye - Mac HD 2
| 04:17:14 PM | Info | Permissions on '/Volumes/Kaye - Mac HD 2'
are enabled.
| 04:17:14 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that Kaye - Mac HD 2
ACL support matches Macintosh HD 2
| 04:17:14 PM | Info | PHASE: 2. Copy Files
| 04:17:14 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Copying files from Macintosh HD 2 to
Kaye - Mac HD 2 using Smart Update
| 04:17:14 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Cloning Macintosh HD 2 to Kaye -
Mac HD 2
| 04:17:15 PM | Info | Copying copy files with delete using
script: /Users/kaye/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Copy
Scripts/Standard Scripts/Backup - all files.dset
| 04:17:15 PM | Info | Loading 21 commands from copy script
/Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude
system temporary files.dset
| 04:17:15 PM | Info | Loading 6 commands from copy script
/Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude
system cache files.dset
| 04:17:15 PM | Info | Loading 1 commands from copy script
/Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude
Norton FileSaver files.dset
| 04:17:15 PM | Info | Loading 2 commands from copy script
/Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude
Spotlight search index.dset
| 04:17:15 PM | Info | Loading 0 commands from copy script
/Users/kaye/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Copy
Scripts/Standard Scripts/Backup - all files.dset
| 04:17:15 PM | Info | /Volumes/Macintosh HD 2
| 04:17:15 PM | Error | SDCopy: utimes /Volumes/Kaye - Mac HD 2/Cleanup
At Startup: Read-only file system
| 04:17:15 PM | Error | : Read-only file system
| 04:17:15 PM | Error | ****FAILED****: result=256 errno=0 (Unknown
error: 0)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-2007, 04:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, the image has mounted read-only because there's a difference between the console (logged in) user and the user who authorized against the share.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2007, 04:31 PM
tcmcam tcmcam is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Console User vs Network User

What is the "console user" vs. Network User.

The local account name is: kpeltz

The user name used to access the network share is: glen

BUT, the "glen" info is in the Keychain, why should it matter. The network drive is mounted??
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-06-2007, 04:37 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I understand, but it's being mounted with the UID of the console user (kpeltz), because that's the user we know about, and the network share isn't allowing that user to mount the drive read/write.

If you point at the mounted volume, that'll fix it.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple errors of kind: "Caught I/O exception(5): Input/output error" amagjo General 7 04-14-2009 10:01 PM
Image in image on xp network disk? And alternative copy method hovis General 3 03-08-2007 08:29 AM
Undersized disk image and a Boot Camp-related backup question garybollocks General 3 10-23-2006 01:07 PM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 10:28 AM
Error in cloning minimac to disk image macWish General 3 10-20-2005 08:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.