Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2008, 04:18 PM
jrdub jrdub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Mounting problems

I'm on Leopard, using 2.5, which worked great for a time. It's scheduled to do an overnight backup. Lately, when I get to the computer in the morning there is an error screen with red writing indicating that the backup failed and it couldn't find one or more of my drives. However, all drives are properly mounted in finder and I can browse them fine. In fact, the drive I'm using is my Time Machine drive and TM runs hourly backups on it no problem. Here's the output from Console (all messages):
2/22/08 12:57:20 PM SuperDuper![8164] Exception raised during posting of notification. Ignored. exception: 'Unable to retrieve volume information' invoked observer method: '*** -[MainController handleSettingsLoadNotification:]' observer: 0x8511d0 notification name: 'SDSettingsLoadNofication'
2/22/08 12:57:21 PM SuperDuper![8164] Exception raised during posting of notification. Ignored. exception: 'Unable to retrieve volume information' invoked observer method: '*** -[MainController applicationDidFinishLaunching:]' observer: 0x8511d0 notification name: 'NSApplicationDidFinishLaunchingNotification'
2/22/08 12:57:33 PM SuperDuper![8164] LOGGED EXCEPTION: FSGetVolumeInfo failed., reason: Unable to retrieve volume information, userInfo: (null)

2/22/08 12:57:33 PM SuperDuper![8164] Unable to retrieve volume information
I uninstalled SD today using AppZapper which got the preferences and other related files. I reinstalled 2.5, re-registered it and it won't see any of my drives. All drive selections options are greyed out because it can't see any drives on my computer. I've found in the past this is remedied by a reboot but obviously that's not acceptable when I'm trying to run automatic scripts.

Thanks for any help you can provide! I really enjoy 2.5's features with TimeMachine integration.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2008, 05:06 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hm. Delete the "SuperDuper!" folder in Library/Application Support, then run

Code:
crontab -r
in Terminal. Then, try running again and see if that fixes it.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2008, 05:19 PM
jrdub jrdub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Hm. Delete the "SuperDuper!" folder in Library/Application Support, then run

Code:
crontab -r
in Terminal. Then, try running again and see if that fixes it.
Well, tried it, but to no avail. Still grayed out options for drives in main screen. Then when I try to schedule something it lists the scheduled copy as "Erase (null), then copy files from (null)" even though both drive selections in the main screen say "Macintosh HD".

For what it's worth, I recently changed the external drive from a FW to a USB connection. Same drive, just different way of connecting. But, like I said, TM has no problems running its backups hourly on the drive.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2008, 05:22 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, given what you've said above, it sounds like -- for some reason -- the code that returns the names of your drives is not working properly. Have you restarted your Mac?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2008, 05:24 PM
jrdub jrdub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
No, that's always just been a temporary solution. It inevitably happens again, usually a day or two later. Should I?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2008, 05:26 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If it works, and then your system eventually begins to fail, there's something wrong in your system/os/etc. The calls that are returning these values (from the OS) are failing to return legitimate values...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What exactly are the problems with Leopard? GrayFox General 1 11-27-2007 11:43 PM
Could Bad RAM cause backup problems? frankc General 1 11-21-2006 01:57 PM
Detect / warn about firewire bus problems? xochi General 1 04-04-2006 03:39 PM
Problems on MacBook Pro McCarron General 3 03-22-2006 05:55 PM
Problems with SystemEntropyCache alf General 12 12-24-2005 10:07 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.