Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2006, 06:09 AM
george george is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Multiple sources and ownership

dave

you've suggested before/users have confirmed that multiple source volumes can live/be bootable on multiple partitions on a single target (FW)HD.

what happens to ownership in this case? (OSX all 1039 and above)

my understanding is that the first used target volume takes on the ownership properties of the first-run source, but that subsequent target partitions get the "Ignore privileges on this volume" flag checked automatically by the OS… with SD possibly cloning then to an incorrectly(?) flagged volume. [edit: here source is not the same one used to format/partition the external target HD]

does/can SD remove this flag during initial all-file backups at each different source/target pairing? if not, should it be manually unchecked prior to running SD? does it matter?

similar issue regards Sandbox volumes of course. tks for any insight on this. (sorry, i'm not up on the details of the vsdbutil command in this case)

george

Last edited by george; 03-23-2006 at 06:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2006, 09:40 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We always uncheck "ignore ownership" before copying (you should always have ownership ON under OSX unless you've got a really good reason not to), so it shouldn't be a problem.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:33 PM
george george is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
dave

if a backup were done with ownership OFF, but then re-backed up with it ON (unchecked) to correct this issue, presumably the integrity of the source volume would be returned given the nature of SD's script schemes… and a Smart Update should do the trick, or would you suggest some further step(s)?

george
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:35 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can't use SD! to back up with ownership OFF. We'll turn it on, and if it won't stay on, we'll fail the backup.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:45 PM
george george is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
dave

hmm... oK, then i'll have to take a further look into what's going on (backups are fine, but). back later. tks

george
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.