Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2008, 09:58 AM
jkpalmer jkpalmer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Backups - The Necessary Evil

Here's my "environment".

I have 3 Apple machines - 1 iMac 1.25 G4 and 2 MBPs and several PCs

All Apple machines connect to my home wireless (Linksys WRT54G Router) and I'm happy with the current configuration.

I use the PCs to store backups of the others and don't really use them much any more so they don't figure into my backup strategy.

I have my iMac "backed up" using TimeMachine to a G-drive. I don't have a bootable copy of the machine, which I really feel I DO need to have.

I have a friend that just went through something that I don't ever want to experience and would like to be better prepared.

I have been researching backup software and have seen much about SuperDuper.

My questions are more hardware than software.

If I acquire ONE sizable Firewire drive, can I use it to backup all three Apples? (I wouldn't mind moving the drive around to perform my backups.)

If so, is there a recommended strategy? Should I partition it so each backup resides in its own partition?

Or should I think about buying a firewire drive for each machine?

Or should I consider getting a TimeCapsule and forget about the multiple firewire drives?

What would you do if your were me?

Help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

-jP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2008, 10:09 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well -- not so sure 'evil' is the right term. Necessary good, perhaps?

But, anyway. If you partition the drive into three appropriately sized volumes, using the "GUID" partiitoning scheme and the "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" format, yes, you can take it around and back up each Mac to its corresponding volume on the one big drive.

I think it's better to get a separate drive for each, because it won't be as much of a hassle, which means you'll actually do it.

It's always better to have a FireWire drive if you can. Using a Time Capsule is fine as a secondary backup (or for Time Machine).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2008, 10:25 AM
jkpalmer jkpalmer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply.

If I go with a FW drive for each machine, then each FW should be partitioned one for bootable image and other for data, correct? And the data partition can be used for TimeMachine, correct?

I agree - backups are good - 'evil' might be a little harsh, but things that I have a hard time getting my head around are not 'friendly'.

I've alway had a tough time with backup concepts. Getting into a routine - doing it, understanding what I have and then if I need to, can I really restore without losing something.

Regards,

-jP
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2008, 10:29 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Certainly, you can do that. Recognize that TM likes a lot of space, so don't cut it too close. And, as before, make sure the Partition Scheme selected (behind Options in the Partition tab of Disk Utility) is GUID.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2008, 04:40 PM
greengrass greengrass is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 21
The G4 iMac is a PPC machine and thus requires an APM partition.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2008, 06:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Ah, sorry. I'd back that up to a separate drive if you're using Leopard.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD and TM backups - what goes first? Moses3d General 14 02-19-2008 02:53 PM
Saving backups? Necessary for scheduled backps? gcoghill General 2 12-10-2007 12:43 AM
Scheduled Backups Don't Run Drdul General 3 08-07-2007 07:45 AM
Scheduling Rotating backups Tangobozo General 1 09-18-2006 07:49 AM
Feature request: "Run scheduled backups NOW" option ChicagoLarry General 1 09-11-2006 01:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.