Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2005, 10:25 PM
iklock iklock is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Angry What does this error message mean?

SuperDuper stops and will not clone my HD. When I look at the log, this message is the last line:

|05:55:55 PM|Error| SVUclone: FTS_NS error for item: '/Volumes/iklock' err: 5, Input/output error

I have no clue whatsoever about what it means, and how do I fix it. It has successfully cloned my HD many many times before, this just happened.

Any suggestions or explanations would be gratefully accepted
Thanks,
Ingrid
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2005, 10:31 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Ingrid. The problem here is that the OS has left an entry in the special /Volumes folder that -- for some reason -- is generating an error when we try to look at it to determine whether we should copy it or not. (I'm guessing that it's your iDisk.)

To fix this, just reboot the system (you might need to do so twice). Once that's done, the system should clean this stuff up, and you'll be OK again.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2005, 01:16 AM
raycee raycee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Hi, Ingrid. The problem here is that the OS has left an entry in the special /Volumes folder that -- for some reason -- is generating an error when we try to look at it to determine whether we should copy it or not. (I'm guessing that it's your iDisk.)

To fix this, just reboot the system (you might need to do so twice). Once that's done, the system should clean this stuff up, and you'll be OK again.
OK, here's my SVU error, reported at more length. I've already restarted twice now, and still have the problem. Now what, please????

Many thanks for whatever help you can offer that will get me over this frustrating hump!

Ray C

---------------------------------
|09:10:51 PM|Error| SVUclone: Error: Couldn't create
|09:10:51 PM|Error| : Input/output error
|09:10:51 PM|Error| SVUclone: Error copying /Users/raychoin/Documents Ray/Computer related/Epson English-U.S./EPSON SMART PANEL for Scanner/Plug-Ins/QuickMail Enabler to /Volumes/Firewire external/Users/raychoin/Documents Ray/Computer related/Epson English-U.S./EPSON SMART PANEL for Scanner/Plug-Ins/QuickMail Enabler of type 8
|09:10:51 PM|Error| : Input/output error
|09:10:51 PM|Error| ****FAILED****: result=256 errno=1 (Operation not permitted)
|09:10:51 PM|Info| Error copying /Users/raychoin/Documents Ray/Computer related/Epson English-U.S./EPSON SMART PANEL for Scanner/Plug-Ins/QuickMail Enabler to /Volumes/Firewire external/Users/raychoin/Documents Ray/Computer related/Epson English-U.S./EPSON SMART PANEL for Scanner/Plug-Ins/QuickMail Enabler of type 8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2005, 01:25 AM
blacey's Avatar
blacey blacey is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to blacey Send a message via Yahoo to blacey
Dave is probably a sleep so let me try to help in the interim.

First it is difficult to discern what the root cause is given the short log excerpt. If you attempted a smart update after the previous error and you are sure that you have sufficient space on the target drive, then I suggest that you choose the "Erase, then copy..." copy mode to reset the the target drive to a "known state".

Regards,
Bruce

Last edited by blacey; 01-24-2005 at 01:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:50 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Ray:

I assume you're not Ingrid, as this looks to be an entirely different issue!

What this looks like, to me, is a failure on the drive or FireWire bus -- but, as Bruce said, it's very hard to know from a small log snippet.

If you would send a System Profiler report to support, along with your SuperDuper!.log, I'll take a look. To do so, start System Profiler, choose File | Save, and save to the default (XML) format. Attach that, and the SuperDuper!.log (found off your Home folder in Library/Logs) to a message to support, and I'll take a look.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2005, 09:59 PM
raycee raycee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Hi David;

Many many thanks for your rapid and accurate response to my request for help with my SuperDuper! difficulty. Your diagnosis was exactly right, you gave me useful extra information beyond “just do X,” and generally helped me get out of trouble quickly and painlessly.

Excellent support! As of today I’m a big fan of your work!

Ray
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:05 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Thanks, Ray. Happy to be able to help.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2005, 01:07 AM
fredhoysted fredhoysted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Similar problem

I'm posting here because my problem is similar. Super Duper is consistently (well three time sout of the last five backups) reporting an error while backing up my 'Macintosh HD' volume, although the error in the log appears to me to be related to my 'Hard Drive 2' volume. Would you recommend the restart approach or something else? I can send you a system profiler output if necessary.

Many thanks,

Fred

~~~~~~~~~~~~

[***] Friday, April 01, 2005 04:00:34 AM America/New_York
|04:00:34 AM|Info| SuperDuper!, version 73, path: /Applications/SuperDuper (Backup)/SuperDuper!.app, OS: 10.3.8 (7U16)
|04:00:34 AM|Info| Source Drive: /, name: Macintosh HD, device: /dev/disk0s5 type: hfs, OS: 10.3.8 (7U16), capacity: 57.26 GB, used: 33.03 GB, directories: 68218, files: 342690
|04:00:34 AM|Info| Target Drive: /Volumes/Backup - Macintosh HD, name: Backup - Macintosh HD, device: /dev/disk5s10 type: hfs, OS: 10.3.8 (7U16), capacity: 59.87 GB, used: 36.58 GB, directories: 68029, files: 340420
|04:00:34 AM|Info| Copy Mode : Smart Update
|04:00:34 AM|Info| Copy Script : Backup - all files.dset
|04:00:34 AM|Info| Transcript : BuildTranscript.plist
|04:00:35 AM|Info| PHASE: Volume Preparation
|04:00:35 AM|Info| ...ACTION: Enable Permissions
|04:00:35 AM|Info| ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on Macintosh HD
|04:00:35 AM|Info| Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
|04:00:37 AM|Info| ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for Macintosh HD
|04:00:38 AM|Info| Permissions on '/' are enabled.
|04:00:38 AM|Info| ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on Backup - Macintosh HD
|04:00:38 AM|Info| Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
|04:00:38 AM|Info| ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for Backup - Macintosh HD
|04:00:38 AM|Info| Permissions on '/Volumes/Backup - Macintosh HD' are enabled.
|04:00:38 AM|Info| PHASE: Clone from Source to Target
|04:00:38 AM|Info| ...ACTION: Copy Files from Macintosh HD to Backup - Macintosh HD
|04:00:38 AM|Info| ......COMMAND => Cloning Macintosh HD to Backup - Macintosh HD
|04:00:39 AM|Info| Copying different files with delete using script: /Applications/SuperDuper (Backup)/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Backup - all files.dset
|04:00:40 AM|Info| Loading 19 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper (Backup)/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude system temporary files.dset
|04:00:40 AM|Info| Loading 1 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper (Backup)/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude Norton FileSaver files.dset
|04:00:40 AM|Info| Loading 2 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper (Backup)/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Backup - all files.dset
|04:00:40 AM|Info| Copy script command hash contains 139 commands
|04:00:40 AM|Error| SVUclone: FTS_NS error for item: '/Volumes/Backup - Hard Drive 2' err: 6, Device not configured
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2005, 09:50 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Definitely, Fred. Disconnect what I assume is an external drive "Backup - Hard Drive 2", reboot, then reconnect. (If it's internal, just reboot.)

That should clean up /Volumes, and you'll be able to continue normally.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.