Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2007, 02:56 PM
GrayFox GrayFox is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
How Can I Clone iPhoto Library?

How can I copy my (iLife 08) iPhoto Library bundle to my
home server?

I can't find the proper rsync magic and I am not sure how
to create a SuperDuper script that will copy just the bundle.

I am currently copying the *whole* thing which is more
bother than it's worth....

Thanks,

Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2007, 04:46 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
While it's relatively easy to select the proper folder/bundle, we cannot copy directly to a network drive, and would need to store the result in a sparseimage. Would that still work for you?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2007, 05:56 PM
GrayFox GrayFox is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
I sorta figured that out when the networked drive did not show up ;(

Anyway I found that the following rsync script "seems" to work...
Quote:
#!/bin/sh
cd /Users/jerry/Pictures
/usr/bin/rsync -azE --delete "iPhoto Library" \
jerry@server:/Users/jerry/Pictures/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:02 AM
Gnurr Gnurr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
iPhoto Library Question

I'm sorry this is not exactly on target but it is related so I'll ask the question:

I have my iPhoto6 Library (much larger than 4 GB) on a WD Passport drive that's formatted FAT32. Will I be able to upgrade to iPhoto7 as is, or will I need to reformat the drive to be able to accept the iPhoto7 bundle?

Thanks in advance for answerind a non SD question.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:10 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sorry, no idea (but in general you should use an HFS+ volume, not FAT32).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Persistent failure to copy radicalkat General 1 08-10-2007 08:00 PM
iPhoto and iTunes library for notebook and Ex HD Greg14 General 5 05-31-2007 09:46 PM
Problem getting apps to run on clone volume ChetA General 3 09-06-2005 02:19 PM
Upgrading a safety clone to tiger 00afro General 12 07-09-2005 11:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.