Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2006, 02:40 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
SuperDuper freezes at 3.30GB progress

Hey there - I'm using the trial version of SuperDuper - and as far as I could tell, there were no limitations on how much I could backup with it, just that I don't get Sandbox or various other functionality. My problem is that the backup process freezes when it reaches the 5.37GB evaluated (3.30GB copied) stage. I'm backing up to a Seagate external Firewire 400 drive with more than 280GB available on it, so space is not the issue. I actually still have control over the program, but it seems like it is not doing anything. I cancelled it last time it did this, and now it is stopped in the same place once again.

HELP!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2006, 02:41 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Are you backing up to an image, Chris?

If not, it's possible it's copying a large file (you won't get "mid-copy" feedback)... do you use FileVault?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2006, 02:44 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Actually, this is my first Mac and I simply set it up to back up my entire Macintosh HDD as a disk image. I don't know what FileVault is.

If I don't get "mid-copy" feedback, would I get "mid-copy" transfer rate? Because the rate is also stuck, at 8.07MB/second.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2006, 02:45 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
And I forgot to mention, I also right-clicked on the disk I am using to store the image, and the available capacity has not changed at all - wouldn't that at least have mid-copy feedback?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2006, 02:50 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. How is your external drive formatted, Chris? (And, no -- nothing about file copying will update mid-file-copy.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2006, 02:52 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
It is formatted so that I can view the drive both from a Mac or PC - MS-DOS I think it is??
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A word of praise for SuperDuper! MMM General 3 06-21-2006 10:08 PM
After 10.4.4 SuperDuper Stopped Recognizing Target Drive bobcarr@mac.com General 1 01-12-2006 03:01 AM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 10:28 AM
Minor concerns regarding SuperDuper giba General 1 05-02-2005 05:06 PM
Another review: MaMUGs looks at SuperDuper! dnanian General 0 01-26-2004 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.