Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2005, 05:07 PM
Dewey Dewey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Copying Four Disks onto One

I've used SuperDuper! to successfully create a safety clone from one partition onto another of my PowerBook's hard disk, however I have consistently had trouble backing up my hard disk to an external hard drive. After taking a long look at what I've been doing, I finally understand my problem:

I've set up my PB's hard disk into four partitions (the working OS, the safety clone, current work, and OS 9). I want to copy these onto an unpartitioned external hard drive, and have started with the working OS partition using the "Backup—all files" script using the smart update option. Then I would do the same thing for the current work partition using "Backup—all files", smart update option.

It has just occurred to me that in doing this, I am erasing my working OS files when backing up the current work files, which is not what I want to do.

Is is practical to backup four partitions onto an unpartitioned disk? Or could I (somehow) create a custom script which would do this backup for me without partitioning the backup drive? (There's no particular reason why the backup hard drive is not partitioned other than the fact that I have an 80GB hard disk in the PB and the drive is 250GB—I figured that it would be more flexible to work with the unused space in this way.)

Hope this all makes sense, and thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2005, 05:19 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Dewey:

In general, it's not practical -- from a restoration standpoint -- to back up four to one volume. How would you properly restore it?

So, you've got a few choices.

First, you can partition the external drive appropriately. I think this is your best course of action: partition into appropriate sizes, and leave the remainder in its own partition for other storage.

You can also create a two partitions, one for the boot volume and another for data, then store sparse images (as described in the FAQ) for the other three volumes. This simplifies the partitioning, and still gives you a bootable main drive backup... but I'd avoid too many sparse images if you don't have to have them.

Finally, you can go with all sparse images. No direct boot, but the most "disk space" flexibility.

In general, disk space is cheap. So, I'd use the first technique.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2005, 05:49 PM
Dewey Dewey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
That's just what I needed to know, and fast, too! Thanks for the response—now to get backed up (before anything unexpected happens...).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2005, 05:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No problem: good luck, and let us know if you have any problems.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange 'Result too large' error when copying kbradnam General 4 07-17-2007 03:22 AM
Smart update copying all files each time fabius General 15 05-29-2005 10:29 PM
TESTING: SuperDuper problems copying some data stevea General 17 05-16-2005 07:18 PM
I've told SuperDuper! to ignore a folder, but it still displays during copying. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 12-24-2004 03:36 PM
When I try to copy a single directory, I end up copying the whole disk. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 06-22-2004 07:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.