Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2007, 06:40 PM
altwegg altwegg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Use SD to restore HD and gain space?

Hi:

Evaluating SD and love it. But have a question that someone might be able to answer. When I run SD, it evaluated 699,923 files, but only copied 544,731 files. When I get info on the MacBook Pro disk, it shows 104,142,577,664 bytes used, but the backup only shows 96,615,665,664 bytes used.

If I reboot on the external drive (the SD backup) and then use SD to "backup" the backup to the main drive, will I end up more free space on my drive? It appears that the backup is almost 8 gigs smaller than the boot drive. Sure would be nice to get that back. Or would a backup/restore enhance the performance of the computer's boot drive?

thanks!

Chris

(I can send the log file from the backup if that helps.)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2007, 08:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,737
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, you either have a bunch of temporary files (restart should clear them up), or you have a folder in /Volumes that shouldn't be there and has data in it (use Finder's "Go To Folder" command to open the hidden /Volumes folder, and look for a folder -- NOT an alias -- named after something that's not a connected drive).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2007, 01:36 PM
altwegg altwegg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks! It was a folder in /Volumes that I deleted and did another backup. Came much closer to matching the original. (I understand that there's a bunch of stuff that SuperDuper ignores as unneeded.)

Thanks for response!

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2007, 02:16 PM
sdsl sdsl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
For newer laptops, there is a safe sleep mode that writes the entire contents of RAM to a file called sleepimage that is located in /private/var/vm. My laptop has 3 GB RAM so this file is 3 GB in size. This file, like the swap files in the same directory, doesn't seem to be copied by SuperDuper (copying them would serve no purpose).

In my case, the swap files had grown to take up about 1 GB and with the 3 GB sleepfile, I saw a ~ 4 GB difference between the clone and the original drive artificially caused by these temporary files that would serve no purpose had they been copied.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.