Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2005, 04:45 PM
RHPC RHPC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Restoring clone

I purchased SuperDuper last June, but have just gotten around to using it on a major project this weekend.

Having tired of making too infrequent back-ups of our 3 Macs (Home Office “environment”) for safety’s sake, I’ve now obtained two 160g external FW drives.

I also decided it was time to re-allocate space for the partitions on each of our three Macs (Al-PwrBk, iMac-Igloo and an older G4 Tower-DigitalGraphics) so there will be more “elbow room” for the OSes (Tiger and Jaguar) Being a traditionalist, I prefer to keep Documents on a second partition, as each Mac only has one “owner/operator”.

Did all the preliminary maintenance I could think of: DiskUtility, TechToolPro, DiskWarrior and OnyX. Got the clones (for OS, Docs, Archives) constructed and moved from the Macs to the external HD. Seemed a little slower than I guessed, but apparently all was uneventful: approx 2 hours for the largest clone, Tiger @ 16+ gigs.

Now, I’ve started (with the iMac) to restore to its newly partitioned Boot Drive. The bootable clone on the external HD worked well to get up and running. However, complications, of some sort have appeared.

The first two attempts, with SuperDuper to restore to the iMac the OS clone from the external HD, have both stalled/hung-up at around 1 hr and 49 min into the task, and each time (if the dialogue box is to be believed) when processing LIBRARY>>APPLICATION SUPPORT>>GARAGEBAND. And I don’t think I’ve ever even opened GarageBand.

Suggestions? Thank you.

Have I overlooked something major?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2005, 04:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't think the dialog box is to be believed in this case.

What I'd suggest is restarting in Safe Boot (Hold down shift and keep it down while powering on, until you reach the desktop), and then restoring in that mode...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2005, 12:24 PM
RHPC RHPC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Tried SafeBoot (twice). No change.

It still "hangs-up" at the same point (those GarageBand files).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2005, 12:36 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hm. Well, let's get it to the hang-up point (make sure it's stuck) and then do, in Terminal:

sudo lsof | grep SVU

Copy/paste, because that "|" is an "or bar", not an L or I. Then, either send that output to me at the support address or pop it in here.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2005, 01:32 PM
RHPC RHPC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
It will take 2 hours to get "there", but I'll try it.

I've never felt really comfortable in Teminal. Age or ignorance, or both, I guess.

I've looked at the System Logs . . . 87 pages of it/them, when I take it off to an AW doc!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2005, 01:48 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
87 pages? What kind of things are in there?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem getting apps to run on clone volume ChetA General 3 09-06-2005 02:19 PM
Safety Clone or Clone na goodman General 3 08-10-2005 07:14 AM
Booting with Safety Clone? dgboat General 5 07-14-2005 12:12 PM
Upgrading a safety clone to tiger 00afro General 12 07-09-2005 11:53 AM
Applying system update to safety clone na goodman General 3 02-20-2005 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.