Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2007, 05:28 PM
nevyn nevyn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Backup to network volume without using disk images?

Hi,

I currenly use a concoction of rsync scripts to backup all of the house's computers and external harddrives to a single big-ass RAID box that has a single partition. Now, I'd like to use SuperDuper for scheduled incremental backups ("Smart Update") for the backups that are already there, because I *don't* feel like spending an entire weekend copying over all that data over network again. Is it possible to have SuperDuper just treat a specific folder on my network volume as a backup target volume? No disk images or anything like that, just copy the files with all my precious metadata intact.

I hope you can help me, because I can't find another good backup app for Mac, and I'm seriously tired of my rsync scripts. (FYI: Synk sucks big time!)

(My current file structure on my backup disk looks like this:
Code:
23:23:16 argon:~ nevyn$ cd /Volumes/Capitol/
23:23:20 argon:/Volumes/Capitol nevyn$ ls
Desktop DB       daemons/         manual/
Desktop DF       installer_files/ rsync/
23:23:21 argon:/Volumes/Capitol nevyn$ ls rsync 
Argon/   Kizei/   Mist/    Rah/     SHADOW/  WIZEI/   Xithaen/
23:23:36 argon:/Volumes/Capitol nevyn$ ls rsync/Kizei 
Applications/ Library/      bin/          opt/          usr/
Apps/         Network/      botlib.log    private/      var@
...
)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2007, 06:34 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sorry, no. We can't copy directly to a network volume because it's not possible for us to properly authorize in a way that would allow the metadata/ownership/permissions to be properly preserved...

If you use an image, though, it "appears" as a local volume, and as such can be authorized against, and everything works out great...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Undersized disk image and a Boot Camp-related backup question garybollocks General 3 10-23-2006 01:07 PM
SuperDuper Failing on Backup - I/O Errors Stephen Kuhn General 1 08-13-2006 04:03 PM
"Pull" a backup from a remotely mounted disk? DrDan in MA General 6 02-08-2006 11:00 AM
Backup to a network mounted volume wduck2 General 1 01-11-2006 12:34 AM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 10:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.